Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Final Replay – Clare 1-23 Waterford 2-19

Clare defeated Waterford by 1-23 to 2-19 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Final Replay on Sunday May 8th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Last gasp Tony Kelly point wins Allianz HL Final replay for Clare

Allianz Hurling League Division 1 final replay

Waterford 2-19 Clare 1-23

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium, Thurles for

CLARE are Allianz Hurling League Division 1 champions for the first time since 1978. The Banner County ended a 38-year wait for glory by defeating Waterford in a cliff-hanger at Semple Stadium this afternoon. 14,210 spectators witnessed an epic finish as 2013 Hurler of the Year Tony Kelly scored two late points to snatch victory and dethrone last year’s champions Waterford.

Clare’s victory sets it up nicely for a repeat meeting between the counties in four weeks’ time – when they face off in a Munster SHC semi-final. But Clare may claim a psychological edge after coming from three points down to win by one, with a run of four unanswered points. Sub Brian O’Halloran put over a 66th minute-point to put Waterford 2-19 to 1-19 in front but there was still life in Clare. Colin Ryan reduced the deficit to two points before Darach Honan brought Clare to within the bare minimum in the second minute of stoppage time.

A hotly-disputed free won by Kelly allowed the Ballyea wizard to slam over the equaliser, wind-assisted, from inside his own half, in the third minute of additional time. And there was still time for Kelly to pop up on the opposite touchline to convert the winning score with what was essentially the last puck of the game.

Kelly collected 1-6 for Clare on an historic day, all but one point of that tally from play, but Waterford claimed that they should have been awarded that late free themselves for an infringement on Jamie Barron. But referee Diarmuid Kirwan pointed towards the Killinan End and Kelly obliged – before converting the winner within a minute.

It was a stunning end to a game that was so much better than its predecessor. The scene was set within 17 seconds when Patrick Curran scored Waterford’s opening goal – with Clare’s spare man marked absent. Curran, who bagged 1-9 in total, cut in from the right touchline inside Pat O’Connor before beating Patrick Kelly from close range.

But Clare settled and were level by the quarter-hour mark, with Conor McGrath lofting over a free before adding another to put Davy Fitzgerald’s charges in front. Curran responded with a free of his own to level matters and Waterford struck for a second goal in the 20th minute, O’Connor giving the ball away with a crossfield pass and allowing the Déise to pounce.

Curran found Jake Dillon who made no mistake and Waterford went on to build six-point leads twice approaching half-time. But McGrath was keeping Clare in it and at the break, and having played against the breeze, they were three points behind, 0-12 to 2-9. It was set up for an intriguing second half and that’s how it panned out but Waterford looked the more likely as they led by 2-15 to 0-15 with 22 minutes of normal time remaining. Kelly’s goal from Aaron Cunningham’s pass gave Clare hope, however, and it was very much game on from there.

Waterford still managed to keep some daylight between the sides, moving three points clear after Clare had got to within one down the home straight. But remarkably, there was that late purple patch from Clare as they stepped on the gas to claim the silverware – and strike a notable psychological blow four weeks out from the Munster SHC semi-final between the counties.

Scorers for Clare: T Kelly 1-6 (0-1f), C McGrath 0-8 (5f), D Honan & C Ryan (1f) 0-2 each, P O’Connor, D Fitzgerald, D Reidy, A Cunningham & P Collins 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: P Curran 1-9 (0-6f, 0-1 65), J Dillon 1-0, A Gleeson 0-3, J Barron & S Bennett 0-2 each, K Moran, D Fives & B O’Halloran 0-1 each.

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe; B Coughlan, N Connors, S Fives; D Fives, K Moran, P Mahony; T de Búrca, J Barron; M Walsh, A Gleeson, S Bennett; J Dillon, P Curran, T Devine
Subs: C Dunford for Devine (46), B O’Halloran for Dillon (57), M Shanahan for Bennett (68), T Ryan for Walsh (70+1).

CLARE: P Kelly; P O’Connor, C Dillon, D Fitzgerald; J Browne, C Cleary, B Bugler; D Reidy, C Galvin; T Kelly, C McGrath, P Collins; D Honan, A Cunningham, S O’Donnell
Subs: C Ryan for Galvin (43), C O’Connell for Collins (55), A Shanagher for O’Donnell (65).

Referee: D Kirwan (Cork)

Fixture Details

08.05.2016 (Sun)
Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1 Final Replay
Semple Stadium, Thurles 15:30
An Clár v Port Láirge TG4
Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Corcaigh)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Ticket Information
Stand: €25.00
Juvenile (Under 16 years of Age): €5.00
Concession Student/OAP: €20 – €5 concession available on €25 tickets prior to entry with valid ID.
Unreserved Seating – Stand Specific

Click to purchase tickets in advance

Team News

The Waterford Senior Hurling Team to face Clare in the Allianz National Hurling League Final Replay was named following training tonight in Walsh Park. Throw in at 3:30pm on Sunday in Semple Stadium.

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
18. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
24. Tom Devine (Modeligo)

Clare (SH v Waterford): Patrick Kelly; Oisín O’Brien, Pat O’Connor, Cian Dillon; Brendan Bugler, Conor Cleary, David Fitzgerald; David Reidy, Com Galvin; Darach Honan, Tony Kelly, Aaron Cunningham; Podge Collins, Peter Duggan, Conor McGrath.