All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifers Round 1 – Cork 1-26 Dublin 1-23

Cork defeated Dublin by 1-26 to 1-23 in Round 1 of the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Qualifers on Saturday July 2nd at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Cadogan quality key to Cork win

Cork 1-26 Dublin 1-23

By John Fogarty for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Man of the match Alan Cadogan and Pa Horgan sent over insurance points late in additional time for Cork to stave off the challenge from 14-men Dublin in this first round All-Ireland SHC qualifier. Cork were four points up on the hour mark having recovered impressively from a Eamonn Dillon goal eight minutes earlier.

However, in keeping with a game where neither side were convincing they were reeled in by the 66th minute with four Dublin scores in a row and although they came back again via points from Bill Cooper and Conor Lehane a ninth David Treacy point put the minimum between the sides once more.

Yet it was the quality of Cadogan that once again sparkled in the Páirc Uí Rinn evening sunshine when he turned his marker and converted a score before Horgan flew over his 11th point of the game.

It wasn’t until the 19th minute that Cadogan first touched the ball but he was clinical, turning and finding the posts. Three minutes later and he repeated the trick before his 25th minute goal, the industrious Luke O’Farrell putting the ball into him. Cadogan had four scoring chances in total during the first half and took each of them. The same couldn’t be said for Lehane and Seamus Harnedy who looked short of confidence on the left wing.

Cork were two points up when Chris Crummey was dismissed for a second yellow card, Paud O’Dwyer sending him to the line after a dangerous foul on John Cronin. Yet Dublin managed to go into the break just two down, 1-10 to 0-11.

Cork looked unnerved when clearing their lines, particularly from their left flank, and Chris Bennett was giving Damien Cahalane a hard time of it. Both teams hit some dreadful wides. Treacy was switched off free-taking duty after missing a couple earlier in the first half. Cork totted up nine wides in the opening period.

Scorers for Cork: P. Horgan (0-12, 8 frees); A. Cadogan (1-5); C. Lehane (0-3); D. Kearney (0-2); L. O’Farrell, W. Egan, B. Lawton, B. Cooper (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dublin: D. Treacy (0-9, 7 frees, 1 65); P. Ryan (frees), C. Bennett (0-4 each); E. Dillon (1-0); N. McMorrow, S. Barrett (0-2 each); J. McCaffrey, C. Crummey (0-1 each).

CORK: A. Nash; M. Ellis, D. Cahalane, K. Burke; A. Walsh, C. Joyce, C. Murphy; W. Egan, B. Cooper; L. O’Farrell, S. Harnedy (c), J. Cronin; A. Cadogan, P. Horgan, C. Lehane
Subs for Cork: C. O’Sullivan for C. Murphy (h-t); D. Kearney for J. Cronin (46); B. Lawton for W. Egan (49); L. McLoughlin for K. Burke (63); S. Kingston for S. Harnedy (68).

DUBLIN: G. Maguire; E. O’Donnell, C. O’Callaghan, J. Madden; C. Crummey, L. Rushe (c), S. Barrett; J. McCaffrey, N. McMorrow; D. Treacy, R. O’Dwyer, E. Dillon; P. Ryan, C. Bennett, M. Schutte
Subs for Dublin: N. Corcoran for J. Madden (h-t); S. Treacy for P. Ryan (44); D. O’Connell for J. McCaffrey (46); F. McGibb for M. Schutte (63); D. Plunkett for C. Bennett (67).

Sent off: C. Crummey (second yellow, 30).

Referee: P. O’Dwyer (Carlow)

Ticket Information

All tickets for this game are unreserved and are only available from and Supervalu/Centra Stores.

Ticket Prices – Adults €20; OAP/Students concessions on day €10; Under 16’s €5

Dublin are seeking their first championship win over Cork since the 1927 All-Ireland final when they won by 4-8 to 1-3. The counties have met eight times in the championship since then, with Cork winning them all.
The most recent meeting was in the 2013 All-Ireland semi-final when Cork won by 1-24 to 1-19 after Dublin had won the Leinster title for the first time since 1961

2013: Cork 1-24 Dublin 1-19 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2008: Cork 1-17 Dublin 0-15 (All-Ireland qualifier)
2007: Cork 3-20 Dublin 0-15 (All-Ireland qualifier)
1952: Cork 2-14 Dublin 0-7 (All-Ireland final)
1944: Cork 2-13 Dublin 1-2 (All-Ireland final)

Dublin beat Wexford by 2-19 to 0-12 in the Leinster quarter-final before losing the semi-final to Kilkenny by 1-25 to 0-16. Cork lost the Munster quarter-final to Tipperary by 0-22 to 0-13.

Dublin 4-21 Cork 2-17 (Div 1A, Croke Park, March 5)
It was all very easy for Dublin who led by 3-12 to 0-9 at half-time. David Treacy 1-7 (0-5 frees) and Eamonn Dillon 2-3 were Dublin’s top scorers while Patrick Horgan 0-7 (0-6 frees, 0-1 ‘65’) and Seamus Harnedy 2-0 were Cork’s leading marksmen.

The winners enter the round 2 draw with the winners of Clare v Laois, Westmeath v Limerick, Wexford v Offaly while the losers are finished for the season

Team News

The Cork team to play Dublin in the All-Ireland Hurling Championship Qualifier on tomorrow Saturday July 2nd in Pairc Ui Rinn) has been announced as follows

Cork Team

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
2. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
4. Killian Burke (Midleton)
5. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
6. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
7. William Egan (Kilbrin)
8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
10. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
11. John Cronin (Lisgoold)
12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
15. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)

16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfield)
18. Michael Russell (Aghada)
19. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
20. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
21. Mark Coleman (Mark Coleman)
22. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfield)
23. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
24. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
25. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
26. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

Dublin: G Maguire; E O’Donnell, C O’Callaghan, O Gough; S Barrett, L Rushe, C Crummey; D Plunkett, J McCaffrey; R O’Dwyer, N McMorrow, D Treacy; P Ryan, E Dillon, M Schutte.