Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Draws 2016/2017

This season will see a change in structure to the Dr. Harty cup competition. Comhairle Iarbhunscoileanna Na Mumhan hosted their AGM on the 12th May 2016. There was a strong feeling on the ground by participating schools that the Dr. Harty cup competition had to get away from groups of five teams. The structure this season will be the same as the B & C Munster PPS senior hurling competitions given the fluctuation in teams competing.

The eight teams that qualified to last year’s quarter finals are seeded into eight different groups this season. Two teams will qualify from each group. The winners of the groups will face the runners up from a different group in the last round of 16. This will mean that there will be four rounds of the competition hosted before Christmas and the quarter finals, semi-finals and final will be hosted after Christmas the same as previous years. This system will guarantee every team at least two meaningful games in the competition.

This year’s group for the Dr. Harty cup and the Corn Uí Mhuirí are outlined below;

Groups for Corn an Artaigh 2016/2017
Group A
Col Iosaef Kilmallock
CBC Cork

Group B
Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG
DLS Waterford
Thurles CBS

Group C
Castletroy CC
HS Clonmel
Blackwater CS

Group D
Ham HS Bandon
Ard Scoil Ris

Group E
Midleton CBS
St Colmans Fermoy

Group F
Our Ladys Templemore
St Flannans Ennis

Group G
St Francis College Rochestown
Charleville CBS

Group H
Abbey CBS
Nenagh CBS

The draw for the Corn Uí Mhuirí competition will remain constraint with previous years.

Groups for the Corn Uí Mhuirí 2016/2017
Group A
St Francis College Rochestown
Col Na Sceilge
Tralee CBS
Col Cholim Ballincollig

Group B
Clonakilty CC
HS Clonmel
Mercy Mounthawk Tralee
Col Chriost Rí

Group C
ISK Killorglin
DLS Macroom
Ham HS Bandon
St Brendan’s Killarney

Group D
St Fachtna’s Skibbereen
PS Chorca Dhuibhne
PS SL Rathmore
St Flannans Ennis