All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers – Cork 2-9 Longford 1-6

Cork defeated Longford by 2-9 to 1-6 in Round 3B of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers on Saturday July 16th at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, Longford.

Colm O’Neill and Pa Kelly power Cork into next round of Football qualifiers

By John Fogarty for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Longford 1-6 Cork 2-9

Cork progressed to Round 4A of the All-Ireland qualifiers this afternoon largely thanks to the half-time introductions of Colm O’Neill and Pa Kelly.

After a dire first half, Cork scored 1-4 without reply in the opening 16 minutes of the second half, the first of those scores ending 34 minutes without one. Replacements O’Neill and Kelly scored 1-2 between them, O’Neill showing his finishing prowess for the 49th minute goal after being set up by Sean Powter.

Powter and Michael Hurley added plenty of vim to Cork’s general play in that period, which was in such contrast to the first half when they looked so out of sorts. In Kelly and O’Neill, the ball was sticking in the full-forward line and Kelly was the architect of Ian Maguire’s 61st minute goal, which crowned the win for the visitors.

Both sides lost a man following a brief melee in the 53rd minute, which resulted in straight red cards for James Loughrey, Darren Gallagher and a yellow card for James McGivney. Having seen Michael Brady retire early to injury, Longford were without their starting midfield pair.

Cork’s start was promising and but for a Paddy Collum block in the second minute Peter Kelleher would have been in for his second goal in as many games. It was Kelleher’s highlight in a difficult half for the young Kilmichael man who was hounded by the Longford full-back line.

Points from Loughrey and Paul Kerrigan were the result of Cork putting serious pressure on the Longford kick-out as was Hurley’s effort in the 10th minute, which put them 0-3 to 0-1 ahead.

But Hurley’s strike was their last score of the half. Cork began to struggle on their own kick-out as Alan O’Connor found himself swamped and Longford, guilty of some poor wides as were Cork, were level in the 19th minute when Diarmuid Masterson angled over a fine point.

Then came the penalty goal six minutes later when Robbie Smyth lost his marker Noel Galvin. Although Galvin didn’t appear to foul Smyth, Barry Cassidy thought otherwise despite Smyth being able to find the net. Brian Kavanagh stood up and put Ryan Price the wrong way.

James McGivney added a point in the 34th minute to give Longford a four-point lead, 1-4 to 0-3, going into the break. One they deserved for simply being less awful than their opponents.

Scorers for Longford: B. Kavanagh (1-1, 1-0 pen); R. Smyth (0-2, 1 free); D. Masterson, J. McGivney, M. Quinn (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cork: C. O’Neill (1-1, 0-1 free); I. Maguire (1-0); M. Collins, P. Kerrigan (free) (0-2 each); J. Loughrey, M. Hurley, P. Kelly, J. O’Rourke (0-1 each).

LONGFORD: P. Collum; D. McElligott, B. Gilleran, B. O’Farrell; C. Farrelly, D. Brady, M. Quinn; M. Brady, D. Gallagher; D. Masterson, B. McKeon, J. McGivney; R. Smyth, B. Kavanagh, L. Connerton
Subs for Longford: M. Hughes for M. Brady (inj, 46); P. McGee for B. McKeon (54); D. Reynolds for L. Connerton (63); B. Farrell for B. Kavanagh (65).

Sent off: M. Brady (straight, 53); D. Masterson (second yellow, 69).

CORK: R. Price; C. O’Driscoll, E. Cadogan, N. Galvin; B. O’Driscoll, J. Loughrey, T. Clancy (Fermoy); A. O’Connor, I. Maguire; K. O’Driscoll, M. Collins, M. Hurley; D. Goulding, P. Kelleher, P. Kerrigan.
Subs for Cork: S. Powter for B. O’Driscoll (35+1); C. O’Neill for D. Goulding, P. Kelly for K. O’Driscoll (both h-t); J. O’Rourke for P. Kelleher (58); R. Deane for A. O’Connor (70); S. Cronin for C. O’Neill (black, 70+4).

Sent off: J. Loughrey (straight, 53).

Referee: B. Cassidy (Derry)

They meet for the first time in the championship, with Longford bidding to reach the Round 4 qualifiers for the first time since 2006.

Offaly 2-21 Longford 2-13 (Leinster 1st round)
Longford 2-24 Down 3-17 (All-Ireland qualifier – Round 1) after extra-time
Longford 2-13 Monaghan 1-13 (All-Ireland qualifier – Round 2)
Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-16 (Munster semi-final)
Cork 2-12 Limerick 0-10 (All-Ireland qualifiers – Round 2)

Team News

The Cork senior Football team for tomorrow All-Ireland Football Championship Qualifier Round 3B v Longford in Pearse Park has been announced as follows

Cork Senior Football Team
1. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)
2. Colm O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
6. James Loughrey (Mallow)
7. Brian O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
8. Alan O Connor (St Colum’s)
9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
12. Kevin O Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
13. Colm O Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
16. Micheal Martin (Nemo Rangers)
17. Daniel Goulding (Eire Og)
18. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)
19. John O Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
20. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
21. Niall Coakley (St Jude’s)
22. Paddy Kelly (Ballincollig)
23. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
24. Sean Powter (Douglas)
25. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
26. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)

Longford team and squad for All-Ireland qualifier V Cork 16th July 2016

1 Paddy Collum (Fr. Manning Gaels)
2 Cian Farrelly (Emmet Óg)
3 Barry Gilleran (Longford Slashers)
4 Dermot Brady (Longford Slashers)
5 Donal McElligott (St. Columbas)
6 Michael Quinn (capt) (Emmet Óg)
7 Diarmuid Masterson (Dromard)
8 Michael Brady (Longford Slashers)
9 Darren Gallagher (St. Mary’s)
10 Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond)
11 James McGivney (St. Columbas)
12 Barry McKeon (Colmcille)
13 Robbie Smyth (Abbeylara)
14 Brian Kavanagh (Kilmacud Crokes)
15 Liam Connerton (Rathcline)

16 Ciaran Garvey (Mostrim)
17 Dessie Reynolds (Sean Connollys)
18 Mark Hughes (Emmet Óg)
19 Brian Farrell (Mostrim)
20 Andrew Farrell (Cashel)
21 Paul McKeon (Colmcille)
22 Rory Connor (Kenagh)
23 David McGivney (St. Columbas)
24 Seamus Hannon (Mostrim)
25 Paul McGee (Dromard)
26 Kevin Diffley (Ballymahon)

Ticket Information
General Admission:
Adult: €20.00
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): €5.00
Concession (Student/OAP): €10.00 rebate available on full-priced ADULT tickets at designated stiles on match day with valid ID PRIOR to entry

Tickets for this game are available from and Super Valu / Centra Stores.

Centra/Supervalu Ticket Outlets
Centra Carrigtwohill Cork
Centra Fermoy Cork
Centra Mallow Cork
Centra Bishopstown Cork
Centra Crosshaven Cork
Centra Charleville Cork
Centra Tower Cork
Centra Togher Cork
The Pavilion Cafe Bar Cork
Pluggd Records Cork
Singleton’s SuperValu, Hollyhill, Co Cork
Collin’s SuperValu, Blarney, Co Cork
Murphy’s SuperValu, Castletownbere, Co Cork
Healy’s SuperValu, Dunmanway, Cork City
Twohig’s SuperValu, Kanturk, Co Cork
O’ Keefe’s SuperValu, Newmarket, Co Cork
O’ Keefe’s SuperValu, Millstreet, Co Cork
Fields’s SuperValu, Skibereen, Co Cork
Collins’ SuperValu, Carrigaline, Co Cork
Scally’s SuperValu, Blackrock, Co Cork
Dano’s SuperValu, Mallow, Co Cork
Caulfield’s SuperValu, Merchants Quay, Cork City
Hurley’s SuperValu, Midleton, Co Cork
Riordan’s SuperValu, Fermoy, Co Cork
Caulfield’s SuperValu, Bandon, Co Cork
Down’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork
Scally’s SuperValu, Clonakilty, Co Cork
Quish’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork
Dick’s SuperValu, Charleville, Co Cork
Garvey’s SuperValu, Cobh, Co Cork
Brooke’s SuperValu, Youghal, Co Cork
Ryan’s SuperValu, Glanmire, Co Cork
Ryan’s SuperValu, Togher, Co Cork
O’Leary’s SuperValu, Macroom, Co Cork
SuperValu, Kinsale, Co Cork
SuperValu, Mayfield, Co Cork
SuperValu, Boherbue, Co Cork
SuperValu, Mallow, Co Cork
SuperValu, Macroom, Co Cork
Biggs SuperValu, Bantry, Co Cork
Reidy’s SuperValu, Michelstown, Co Cork
Ryan’s SuperValu, Grange, Co Cork