All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Waterford 0-21 Wexford 0-10

Waterford defeated Wexford by 0-21 to 0-10 in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday July 24th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

All Ireland SHC Q-F: Comfortable victory for Waterford

All Ireland SHC Quarter-Final

Waterford 0-21 Wexford 0-11

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium for

Waterford erased some of the bitter memories of their Munster final collapse against Tipperary by easing into the All-Ireland semi-finals this afternoon.

Derek McGrath’s Déise recorded an ultimately comfortable 10-point victory over South-East rivals Wexford in this afternoon’s quarter-final clash at Semple Stadium. The scene is now set for a repeat of last year’s All-Ireland semi-final in a fortnight’s time at Croke Park, when Waterford will face champions Kilkenny.

Waterford struck 17 wides over the course of the 70-plus minutes – seven from Austin Gleeson alone, but still had enough about them to cope with the Wexford challenge. Derek McGrath’s team were 10 points ahead in the second half – 0-15 to 0-5 – before Wexford rallied to within five with a run of five unanswered scores.

But Waterford hit back with six on the trot themselves to make this one safe and seal a safe passage to the last four. There was a huge setback for Waterford in the first half, however, as Darragh Fives limped off with what appeared to be a recurrence of a quad injury.

Wexford also lost Eoin Moore in the second period as the Oulart-the-Ballagh defender was stretchered off in agony. By half-time, Waterford had registered as many wides, 12, as points.

They led by 0-12 to 0-05 at the end of a disappointing first half pockmarked by poor shooting and the occasional long-range special. With both sides operating sweeper systems, goal chances were at a premium.

Austin Gleeson registered five of their first half wides, but also contributed a point, as Jamie Barron, Shane Bennett and Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh hit two points each. Waterford’s leading first half scorer was Pauric Mahony, with three of his four points from frees, as Lee Chin hit two points from play Wexford, with Conor McDonald adding two frees.

Waterford raced into a 0-6 to 0-1 lead by the 10th minute as Wexford found scores hard to come by. McDonald went for goal from a 20m free that was blocked in the 13th minute and he was off-target from the resultant 65.

McDonald did nail an 18th minute free to end a 12-minute barren spell on the scoreboard for Wexford, but Waterford seemed to be cruising and operating well within themselves as they went on to lead by seven points at the break.

That massive wides tally in the first half will have been a concern to boss McGrath, however, but with the breeze at their backs in the opening half, and Wexford playing with a massed defence, the temptation was always there to have a pop from outside the 45m line.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-8 (6fs), A Gleeson, J Barron, S Bennett, M Walsh, M Shanahan and B O’Halloran 0-2 each, J Dillon 0-1.

Scorers for Wexford: C McDonald 0-5 (4fs), L Chin 0-2, É Martin, L Ryan, J O’Connor and D Dunne 0-1 each.

Waterford: S O’Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; D Fives, T de Búrca, Philip Mahony; K Moran, J Barron; Pauric Mahony, A Gleeson, Shane Bennett; M Walsh, M Shanahan, P Curran
Subs: C Gleeson for D Fives (inj., 12), J Dillon for Shanahan (50), B O’Halloran for Curran (55), Stephen Bennett for Shane Bennett (60), C Dunford for Gleeson (temp 64-69), C Dunford for Walsh (70+2).

Wexford: M Fanning; E Moore, M O’Hanlon, P Foley; É Martin, L Ryan, D O’Keeffe; Jack O’Connor, E Conroy; L Óg McGovern; L Chin, D Dunne; H Kehoe, C McDonald, P Morris
Subs: A Kenny for Conroy (27), N Kirwan for Kehoe (45), S Donohue for Moore (inj., 51), A Nolan for Morris (65), Joe O’Connor for McGovern (68)

Referee: A Kelly (Galway).

Ticket Information
Reserved Seating in both stands:
Adults: €30
Juveniles: €5

Adults: €20
Juveniles: €5

Click to purchase tickets in advance

Team News

The Waterford Senior Hurling Team to face Wexford on Sunday in the All Ireland Quarter Final has been named.

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
18. Darragh Fives (Tourin)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
20. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)

WEXFORD (SHC v Waterford): M Fanning (Glynn-Barntown); E Moore (Oulart The Ballagh), M O’Hanlon (St James), J Breen (Adamstown); D O’Keeffe (St Anne’s), P Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn), É Martin (Geraldine O’Hanrahans); J O’Connor (St Martin’s), E Conroy (Naomh Éana); L Óg McGovern (St Anne’s), L Chin (Faythe Harriers), H Kehoe (Cloughbawn); P Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s), C McDonald (Naomh Éanna), D Dunne (Davidston/Courtnacuddy)

They last met in the quarter-final in 2008 when Waterford won an All-Ireland quarter-final clash by 2-19 to 3-15 while their most recent championship clash was two year ago when Wexford won a qualifier tie by 3-15 to 2-15.

Their most recent competitive clash was in this year’s Allianz League Division 1 quarter-final in March when Waterford won by a point (0-17 to 1-13) in Innovate Wexford Park.

Wexford led by 0-8 to 0-2 after 19 minutes but Waterford rallied strongly and were only a point behind (0-9 to 0-8) at half-time. Waterford were four points ahead with ten minutes left before Wexford drew level with a goal from Conor
McDonald and a point from Harry Kehoe. However, a late point from a free by Maurice Shanahan proved the winner.
Wexford are bidding to reach the All-Ireland semi-final for the first time since 2007 while Waterford were there last year, losing to Kilkenny.

Waterford 1-21 Clare 0-17 (Munster semi-final)
Tipperary 5-19 Waterford 0-13 (Munster final)
Dublin 2-19 Wexford 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
Wexford 1-21 Offaly 1-13 (All-Ireland qualifier – Round 1)
Wexford 0-23 Cork 1-17 (All-Ireland qualifier – Round 2)

Wexford 3-15 Waterford 2-15 (2014 All-Ireland qualifiers, Nowlan Park)
Wexford: Mark Fanning; Liam Ryan, Matthew O’Hanlon, Keith Rossiter; Andrew Shore, Eoin Moore, Ciaran Kenny; David Redmond, Lee Chin; Harry Kehoe, Podge Doran, Jack Guiney; Liam Og McGovern, Conor McDonald, Paul Morris.
Subs: Diarmuid O’Keeffe for Kehoe; Willie Devereux for Rossiter; Ian Byrne for Devereux; Garrett Sinnott for Redmond; Rory Jacob for McGovern.

Waterford: Stephen O’Keeffe; Noel Connors, Liam Lawlor, Padraig Prendergast; Shane Fives, Kevin Moran, Darragh Fives; Tadhg de Burca, Michael Walsh; Shane O’Sullivan, Pauric O’Mahony, Jake Dillon; Shane Walsh, Colin Dunford, Austin Gleeson.
Subs: Gavin O’Brien for Shane Walsh, Stephen Molumphy for Darragh Fives, Seamus Prendergast for Dillon, Martin O’Neill for Mahony, Stephen Bennett for Lawlor.

Waterford have a good record in quarter-finals, winning seven, drawing one and losing two of their previous ten appearances.
2015: Waterford 2-21 Dublin 1-19
2012: Cork 1-19 Waterford 0-19
2011: Waterford 2-23 Galway 2-13
2010: Waterford 1-16 Galway 0-18
2008: Waterford 2-19 Wexford 3-15
2007: Waterford 2-17 Cork 0-20 (Replay)
2007: Waterford 3-16 Cork 3-16 (draw)
2006: Waterford 1-22 Tipperary 3-14
2005: Cork 1-18 Waterford 1-13
1998: Waterford 1-20 Galway 1-10

This will be Wexford’s sixth quarter-final appearance, having won three and lost two of their previous five.
2014: Limerick 4-26 Wexford 1-11
2008: Waterford 2-19 Wexford 3-15
2007: Wexford 3-10 Tipperary 1-14
2003: Wexford 2-15 Antrim 2-12
2001: Wexford 4-10 Limerick 2-15