All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final – Tipperary 3-13 Galway 1-10

Tipperary defeated Galway by 3-13 to 1-10 in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday July 31st at Croke Park.

Click to view a selection of post-match photos

All Ireland SFC Q-F: Terrific Tipperary triumph

Tipperary 3-13 Galway 1-10

By Paul Keane at Croke Park for

Tipperary’s All-Ireland title dream remains alive after a famous quarter-final success, their first ever, secured thanks to a couple of thrilling cameo performances from Michael Quinlivan and Conor Sweeney.

Quinlivan’s first-half goal got Tipp on their way and Sweeney weighed in with two more after the break to ensure a remarkable win over the Connacht champions.

Tipp are through now to the All-Ireland semi-finals and will meet Tyrone or Mayo on August 21, a game they will feel they can win to secure a quite incredible final place against Dublin or Kerry.

Amazingly, a repeat of the Munster final between Tipp and Kerry could even occur next month with the southern duo still standing in the Championship.

Tipp’s progression also means that they are the only county with teams still involved in both the senior football and hurling championships.

It was a terrific performance from Tipp who defended in stout fashion and provided a platform for their forwards to attack menacingly, something Galway were no match for.

It’s the end of the line for Galway now though they have their provincial title at least and, in time, will regard the summer as a success.

Tipp took no negative vibes into the contest despite watching fellow first time quarter-finalists Clare receive a sound beating from Kerry in the earlier game.

Their heads still didn’t drop after falling 0-4 to 0-1 down after 15 minutes either following Galway points from Danny Cummins, Shane Walsh and Eamon Brannigan.

In fact, it only seemed to spur them into action and they opened up with some exciting attacking football that displayed their full range of skills from there on.

In all, Tipp hit with 1-6 without reply between the 15th and 33rd minutes as the Galway defence found itself under siege.

It was thrilling from Tipp and Quinlivan in particular whose 17th minute goal when he palmed in from close range after good work by Robbie Kiely and George Hannigan was the spark. Quinlivan added two points before free-taker Kevin O’Halloran opened his account and Sweeney then got in on the act.

Tipp led 1-7 to 0-4 approaching the break though Galway hauled themselves back into the contest with a brilliant Damien Comer goal. He raced onto Paul Conroy’s pass and powered past Alan Campbell before blasting to the net, leaving Tipp just 1-8 to 1-5 up the interval.

Galway’s defence was always vulnerable though and Tipp exposed it time and again in the second-half as they soared to a famous win. Quinlivan and Philip Austin both had goal chances though Sweeney wasn’t to be denied and netted in the 38th and 47th minutes to put the Premier into a spectacular 10-point lead.

Bill Maher did the spade work for the first goal, playing in Sweeney after a solo run through the middle and Sweeney got his fist to Jimmy Feehan’s long ball for the second. Leading by 3-11 to 1-7, double scores, Tipp could afford to drop the intensity a notch for the closing 20 minutes or so and still win with plenty to spare.

Galway tried for goals, but couldn’t get another and managed just two points from open play in the entire second-half, from Cummins and sub Paul Varley.

Scorers for Tipperary: C Sweeney 2-2, M Quinlivan 1-4 (1f), K O’Halloran 0-4 (2fs, 145), B Fox 0-1, R Kiely 0-1, P Acheson 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: S Walsh 0-4 (4fs), D Comer 1-0, D Cummins 0-3, E Brannigan 0-1, P Conroy 0-1, P Varley 0-1.

Tipperary: E Comerford; C McDonald, A Campbell, C O’Shaughnessy; B Maher, R Kiely, J Feehan; P Acheson, G Hannigan; J Keane, K O’Halloran, B Fox; P Austin, M Quinlivan, C Sweeney
Subs: A Moloney for Keane (65), S Leahy for Maher (69), M Dunne for Hannigan (73), M Hanley for Quinlivan (75).

Galway: B Power; E Kerin, D Kyne, D Wynne; L Silke, G O’Donnell, G Bradshaw; P Conroy, T Flynn; G Sice, J Heaney, E Brannigan; D Cummins, S Walsh, D Comer
Subs: A Varley for Sice (48), P Varley for Heaney (50), E Tierney for Brannigan (52), P Sweeney for A Varley (61), P Cooke for Walsh (63), E Hoare for Conroy (69 BC).

Referee: C Lane (Cork).

Fixture Details

31.07.2016 (Sun)
GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter Final
Páirc an Chrócaigh 16:00
Gaillimh v Tiobraid Árann
Referee: Conor Lane (Corcaigh)

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Galway in tomorrow’s All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final in Croke Park has been announced by manager Liam Kearns. There are no changes as expected with Liam naming the same starting fifteen that lined out against Derry last weekend.

The Tipperary team lines out as follows-

1. Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
2. Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan
3. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
4. Ciarán Mc Donald – Aherlow
5. Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
6. Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
7. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
8. Peter Acheson (Capt.) – Moyle Rovers
9. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers
10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
11. Kevin O’Halloran – Portroe
12. Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
13. Philip Austin – Borrisokane
14. Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
15. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen

GALWAY (SF v Tipperary): B Power; E Kerin, D Kyne, D Wynne; L Silke, G O’Donnell, G Bradshaw; P Conroy, T Flynn; G Sice, D Comer, J Heaney; E Brannigan, S Walsh, D Cummins.

Ticket Information
Hogan Stand Adult tickets only (No Concession available): €30.00 / £26.00
Cusack Stand: €30.00 / £26.00
Terrace: €20.00 / £17.00

Family Tickets:
Family Tickets available in the Cusack and Davin Stands only
Adults: €30.00 / £26.00
Juveniles (Under 16 years of Age): €5.00 / £5.00

Concession (Students & Senior Citizens): Available in the Cusack and Davin Stand Only. Purchase full price ADULT tickets and get rebate of €10.00 with valid I.D. at Block D, Stiles 1 to 5 in the Cusack Stand (Rebate can only be claimed on entry into the stadium via BLOCK D)

Click here to purchase tickets in advance

They meet in the championship for the fourth time, with two of the clashes coming in the qualifiers in the last three years. Galway won both games in 2013 and 2014 meetings. The 2014 clash produced a total of 8-29, with Galway winning by 4-17 to 4-12.

Galway last reached the quarter-final in 2014 when they lost to Kerry. Their last win in the quarter-final was in 2001 when they beat Roscommon and later went on to win the All-Ireland title.

Galway 1-12 Mayo 0-12 (Connacht semi-final)
Galway 0-13 Roscommon 1-10 (Connacht final)
Galway 3-16 Roscommon 0-14 (Connacht final) Replay

Top Scorers
Danny Cummins…….2-5
Gary Sice……………….1-8 (0-7 frees)
Eamonn Brannigan…0-5
Damien Comer………..0-5
Tipperary 1-15 Waterford 1- 7 (Munster quarter-final)
Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-16 (Munster semi-final)
Kerry 3-17 Tipperary 2-10 (Munster final)
Tipperary 1-21 Derry 2-17 (All-Ireland qualifier – Round 4)

Top Scorers
Kevin O’Halloran……..1-19 (0-12 frees, 0-4 ‘45s)
Michael Quinlivan…….1-17 (0-8 frees)
Conor Sweeney………….1-5

2014: Galway 4-17 Tipperary 4-12 (All-Ireland qualifiers – Round 4)
2013: Galway 1-12 Tipperary 0-11 (All-Ireland qualifiers – Round 1)
1904: Tipperary 2-5 Galway 0-4 (All-Ireland semi-final)
1902: Tipperary 2-17 Galway 0-1 (All-Ireland ‘Home’ Final)

2014: Kerry 1-20 Galway 2-10
2008: Kerry 1-21 Galway 1-16
2005: Cork 2-14 Galway 2-11
2003: Donegal 0-14 Galway 0-11 (replay)
2003: Galway 1-11 Donegal 0-14 (draw)
2002: Kerry 2-17 Galway 1-12
2001: Galway 0-14 Roscommon 1-5
Played 7, Won 1, Drew 1, Lost 5.

Tipperary are in their first quarter-final