All-Ireland Junior Football Championship Final – Kerry 2-18 Mayo 2-11

Kerry defeated Mayo by 2-18 to 2-11 in the All-Ireland Junior Football Championship Final on Saturday August 6th at Croke Park.

Kerry are All-Ireland junior football champions again as they see off Mayo

Kerry 2-18 Mayo 2-11

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park for

JUST LIKE LAST year Kerry hit 2-18 in an All-Ireland junior final this afternoon, just like last year they were crowned champions and just like last year Mayo were the side they put to the sword.

This was a trickier game than the 2015 decider – Mayo hit 2-4 without reply early in the second-half to trim Kerry’s advantage to three points – but ultimately Kerry were deserved victors with a devastating display of attacking play in the opening period paving the way for success. Kerry overcame a tentative start to the game as they trailed 0-3 to 0-1 after the opening quarter and they didn’t bag a point from play until the 22nd minute.

But they cut loose before the interval, striking a stunning haul of 2-8 without reply to leave Mayo reeling. Two goals from Dromid Pearses club player Niall O’Shea gave Kerry a commanding platform. The opening strike arrived in the 20th minute when his marker Eoin O’Donoghue slipped in the left corner, allowing O’Shea to race inside and billow the net in front of Hill 16.

O’Shea’s second goal in the 28th minute came from an equally emphatic finish yet it owed much to a surging run forward by wing-forward Brian Ó Seanacháin as he cut apart the Mayo defence. Kerry’s forward excelled in that time frame. An Ghaeltacht’s Sean Micheál Ó Conchúir picked off 0-4 in the first-half with some brilliant shooting and caused huge problems for the Mayo rearguard. Centre-forward and captain Paul O’Donoghue’s place kicking was superb while Kieran Hurley made a big impact as the half progressed.

At the break Kerry were cruising as they possessed a 2-10 to 0-4 advantage with Hurley then chipping over the first point of the second-half to stretch their lead. But Mayo mounted an excellent recovery. Their dangerous forward duo Darren Coen and Conor Keane hit a brace of points apiece.

Those scores sandwiched two Mayo goals – the first from Michael Forde as fortunate as the ball spilled from goalkeeper Darragh O’Shea’s hands to the net and then substitute Robert Holian drilled a shot in for their second goal. Mayo were back in contention as they trailed 2-11 to 2-8 with 40 minutes on the clock but then Kerry steadied themselves. David Foran (2), Andrew Barry, O’Donoghue and Dara Roche ensured they added five points without reply and they were in a comfortable position heading down the home straight, in front 2-16 to 2-8.

Kerry could have grabbed a couple of more goals but Mayo’s Mattie Flanagan denied Foran and O’Shea with point-blank saves.
Mayo tried their best to make inroads into Kerry’s lead late on but they couldn’t find the net and Ó Conchúir floated over a lovely late point off his left to seal Kerry’s success.

Scorers for Kerry: Niall O’Shea 2-0, Sean Micheál Ó Conchúir 0-5 (0-2f), Paul O’Donoghue (0-1f, 0-1 ’45), Kieran Hurley, David Foran 0-3 each, Jason Foley, Andrew Barry, Adrian Spillane, Dara Roche 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mayo: Darren Coen 0-5 (0-4f), Conor Keane 0-4, Michael Forde 1-1, Robert Holian 1-0, James Kelly 0-1.


1. Darragh O’Shea (Ballydonoghue)
2. Fionán Clifford (Waterville)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Cathal Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht)
5. Patrick Clifford (Templenoe)
6. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
7. Robert Wharton (Renard)
8. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)
9. John C. O’Connor (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)
10. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)
11. Paul O’Donoghue (St Mary’s – captain)
12. David Foran (St Senan’s)
13. Niall O’Shea (Dromid Pearses)
14. Kieran Hurley (St Pat’s)
15. Sean Michéal Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht)
17. Kevin O’Sullivan (Kenmare) for Clifford (39)
22. Dara Roche (Glenflesk) for Hurley (47)
19. Laurence Bastible (John Mitchels) for Foley (49)
18. Dara O’Shea (Kenmare) for Ó Seanacháin (54)
21. Michael O’Donnell (Austin Stacks) for Spillane (57)
23. Adam Barry (Brosna) for Foran (62)


1. Mattie Flanagan (Balla)
7. Jason Forkan (Kiltimagh)
3. Niall Freeman (Aghamore)
4. Eoin O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
5. Barry Duffy (Balla)
6. James Kelly (Belmullet)
24. Padraig Feerick (Hollymount-Carramore)
8. Michael Togher (Belmullet)
9. Peter Collins (Islandeady)
10. Brian Reape (Moy Davitts)
11. Michael Forde (Ballycastle)
12. Kevin Gibbons (Louisburgh)
13. Darren Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
14. Andrew Farrell (Killala, Captain)
15. Conor Keane (Hollymount/Carramore)
17. Sean Gaughan (Belmullet) for Collins (inj) (15)
18. Ronan Mallee (Kiltimagh) for Farrell (half-time)
20. Robert Holian (The Neale) for Reape (half-time)
23. Shairoze Akram (Ballaghaderreen) for O’Donoghue (black card) (35)
21. Ronan Doherty (Ardnaree) for Feerick (48)

Referee: Shaun McLaughlin (Donegal)

The Kerry Junior team to play Mayo in the All Ireland Junior Football Final in Croke Park on Saturday (2pm) shows 3 changes in personnel from the side that defeated Lancashire in the Semi final.

Patrick Clifford, who was introduced in the semi final, comes into the half back line in place of Laurence Bastable; John C. O’Connor, who was also introduced in the semi final, starts in midfield in place of Michael O’Donnell and team Captain, Paul O’Donoghue, is recovered from injury and regains his place at centre forward in place of Kevin O’Sullivan who deputised for him against Lancashire.

The team lines out as follows:

1 Darragh O’Shea Ballydonoghue
2 Fionán Clifford Waterville
3 Jason Foley Ballydonoghue
4 Cathal Ó Lúing An Ghaeltacht
5 Patrick Clifford Templenoe
6 Andrew Barry Na Gaeil
7 Robert Wharton Renard
8 Adrian Spillane Templenoe
9 John C. O’Connor Kerins O’Rahillys
10 Brian Ó Seanacháin Ballydonoghue
11 Paul O’Donoghue (C) St Marys
12 David Foran St Senans
13 Niall O’Shea Dromid Pearses
14 Kieran Hurley St Pats
15 Sean Michéal Ó Conchúir An Ghaeltacht
Fir Ionaid:
16 Kieran Fitzgibbon Kenmare
17 Kevin O’Sullivan Kenmare
18 Dara O’Shea Kenmare
19 Laurence Bastible John Mitchels
20 Sean T Dillon St Senans
21 Michael O’Donnell Austin Stacks
22 Dara Roche Glenflesk
23 Adam Barry Brosna
24 Lee O’Donoghue Glenflesk

Bainisteóir: Stephen Wallace (Ardfert)
Róghnóirí: Timmy O’Sullivan (Kerins O’Rahillys), Jimmy Keane (Brosna), Brian Hickey (Skellig Rangers).

Additional Players on the Kerry Junior Panel:
Daniel Daly (St Marys),
Conor O’Shea (St Marys), Shane Fitzmaurice (Brosna), Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla), Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe) and Ciarán Keating (Skellig Rangers) were not considered due to injury.