Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U21 B Championship – Richie McElligott Cup Quarter-Final – Kerry 7-22 Donegal 1-4

Kerry defeated Donegal by 7-22 to 1-4 in the Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U21 B Championship – Richie McElligott Cup Quarter-Final on Saturday August 6th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Seven-goal Kingdom cruise on

Kerry 7-22 Donegal 1-4

Kerry set up an All-Ireland U-21 ‘B’ hurling semi-final against Meath in two weeks’ time after a facile 7-22 to 1-4 victory over Donegal in Thurles on Saturday.

Backed by nine senior panellists, the seven-time champions had little trouble in dispatching the Ulster side who had recently secured the All-Ireland Under 21 ‘C’ honours for the second year in succession.

Despite the best efforts of Jack O’Loughlin, Paul Nelson and Aaron McCauley, Donegal had to concede they were second best to a sharper and more balanced Kerry side.

The youngsters from the Kingdom quickly gathered momentum with first-half goals through Michael O’Leary (2), Philip Lucid, Fionán O’Sullivan and Jordan Conway to ensure an unassailable 5-11 to 0-2 half-time advantage.

Indeed, the game petered out once Conway completed his hat-trick of goals by the end of the third quarter. And while McCauley did pull back a rather fortunate goal from distance, the Kingdom finished with the last seven points to complete a confident display in which all of their impressive tally of 7-22 came from play.

Scorers – Kerry: J Conway 3-1; P Lucid 1-6; M O’Leary 2-1; C Hussey 0-3; F O’Sullivan 1-0; F Horgan, J Buckley, J Wallace 0-2 each; J Brick, K Carmody, D Egan, M Flaherty, J Goulding 0-1 each. Donegal: A McCauley 1-2 (1-1f); J O’Loughlin, S Curran 0-1 each.

KERRY – S Murphy; F Horgan, D Shanahan, B Lyons; J Buckley, J Diggins, K Carmody; P Lucid, P O’Connor; J Goulding, M O’Leary, J Brick; C Hussey, F O’Sullivan, J Conway
Subs: D Egan for Hussey (36), M Flaherty for O’Connor (37), C Kearney for Diggins (40), J Wallace for Brick (42), D O’Carroll for O’Leary (43).

DONEGAL – D Laverty; C Griffin, D McLaughlin, C Rami; S Anderson, J O’Loughlin, E Lynch; S Doherty, J McBride; O Rooney, S Curran, C Grant; A McCauley, P Nelson, C O’Grady
Subs: D Wilson for Lynch (7), D McCarthy for Rami (38), T Clare for Doherty (43), M Diver for Griffin (50), T Doherty for McBride (60).

REF – P Burke (Kilkenny)

Kerry Under 21 Hurling Team V Donegal – All Ireland Under 21 B Championship
Saturday 6th Aug 2016 4PM in Semple Stadium, Thurles.

1 Stephen Murphy Causeway
2 Fionán Horgan St Brendans
3 Darragh Shanahan Lixnaw
4 Billy Lyons Causeway
5 John Buckley Lixnaw
6 Jason Diggins Causeway
7 Keith Carmody (C) Causeway
8 Philp Lucid Ballyheigue
9 Paudie O’Connor Kilmoyley
10 Jack Goulding Ballyduff
11 Michael O’Leary Abbeydorney
12 Jordan Brick Kilmoyley
13 Cian Hussey St Brendans
14 Fionán O’Sullivan Kenmare
15 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills
Fir Ionaid:
16 David Silles Lixnaw
17 Jason Wallace Lixnaw
18 Daniel O’Carroll Ballyduff
19 Stevie O’Sullivan Abbeydorney
20 Matthew Flaherty Dingle
21 Adrian O’Mahony Crotta O’Neills
22 Cathal Kearney Ballyduff
23 Joe Diggins Causeway
24 Eoin Ross Ballyduff

Additional Members on the Kerry Panel: David Egan (Abbeydorney), Ronan O’Donovan (Abbeydorney), Brendan Dunne (Ballyheigue), Kieran McCarthy (Kilmoyley), Robert Collins (Kilmoyley), Willie O’Connor (Lixnaw), John Hussey (Ballyduff).

Bainisteoír: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)
Roghnoirí: D.J. Leahy (Causeway), John Lucid (Ballyheigue), Aidan O’Mahony (St Brendans)
Physio: Trudy Ryan
Liason Officer : Ger McCarthy