Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship – Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup Semi-Final – Kerry 2-19 Down 1-15

Kerry defeated Down by 2-19 to 1-15 in the Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship – Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup Semi-Final on Saturday August 13th at St Conleth’s Park, Newbridge.

Leen strike seals Kerry’s final date

All-Ireland MHC ‘B’ semi-final Kerry 2-19 Down 1-15

Kerry remain on course for a five-in-row of minor hurling ‘B’ titles after a hard-fought victory over a battling Down side at Newbridge on Saturday.

Kerry laid the foundations for victory with a solid first-half performance, in which they struck for a goal in the 15th minute when Shane Conway drove through and passed to Barry O’Mahony who drilled to the net.

This helped the Kingdom to a 1-12 to 0-7 half-time lead and Down were reduced to 14 players early in the second half when Callum Smyth received a second yellow. Despite this, they rallied strongly and a 40th-minute Conor McCrickard goal saw the reduced deficit to two points. However, Kerry regrouped and Eric Leen crowned a fine second-half display by side-footing home soccer style with five minutes left.

Scorers –
Kerry: B O’Mahony 1-5 (2fs); E Leen 1-3; S Conway 0-4 (2f, 1 ’65); C Sheehy 0-3; B McAuliffe, M O’Connor, M McCarthy, T O’Connor 0-1 each

Down: C McCrickard 1-5 (2f), R McCrickard 0-6 (5f), D Sands 0-3, D McCartney 0-1.

Kerry: A O’Sullivan, B McAuliffe, C O’Keeffe, E Murphy, G Fennessy, L Mullins, T Quinlan, C Galway, S Conway, C Sheehy, E Leen, D Goulding, P O’Mahony, B O’Mahony, M O’Connor
Subs: T O’Connor for Quinlan (34): M McCarthy for Goulding (46m): G Carey for Galway (51m)

Down: C McLornan, E Kelly, P Branagan, J Carlin, C Smyth, E Coulter, D Og Rooney, R McCrickard, T Murray, C McCrickard, D McCartney, P Miskimmon, D Sands, A Mee, S McKey
Subs: N Fitzsimmons for Miskimmon (48m): M Napier for Rooney (50m): C McPolin for Fitzsimmons (60m)

Ref: J Murphy (Limerick)

Team News

The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Down in the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling B Championship Semi Final in Newbridge on Saturday at 1:30pm is as follows:

1 Adam O’Sullivan Crotta O’Neills
2 Philip Maunsell Kilmoyley
3 Conor O’Keeffe Lixnaw
4 Evan Murphy Causeway
5 Gearoíd Fennessy Kilgarvan
6 Liam Mullins Lixnaw
7 Thomas Quinlan Crotta O’Neills
8 Conor Galwey Ballyheigue
9 Shane Conway (C) Lixnaw
10 Coilin Sheehy Lixnaw
11 Eric Leen St Brendans
12 Micheál McCarthy Kenmare
13 Padraig O’Mahony St Brendans
14 Barry O’Mahony Crotta O’Neills
15 Maurice O’Connor Kilmoyley
Fir Ionaid:
16 Robert Silles Lixnaw
17 Darragh Behan Crotta O’Neills
18 Darragh Goulding Ballyduff
19 Gary Carey Causeway
20 Nial O’Mahony Abbeydorney
21 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
22 Jeaic McKenna Crotta O’Neills
23 Bryan McAuliffe Lixnaw
24 Ciarán Breen Tralee Parnells

Additional Panel Members:
25 Adrian Nolan St Brendans
26 Shane O’Mahony St Brendans
27 Gerard Leen Causeway
28 Chris Creedon Kilgarvan
29 Brandon Conway Crotta O’Neills
30 Jack O’Sullivan Ballyduff
31 Sean O’Donoghue Crotta O’Neills
32 Geroid O’Mahony Causeway

Bainisteoir: John Hennessy (Ballyduff)
Róghnoirí: Jerome O’Sullivan (Crotta O’Neills), Eamonn Fitzgearld (Causeway), John Healy (Ballyheigue).
Treánalaí: John Barry (St Senans)

Fixture Details

Saturday August 13
Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship – Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup Semi-Final
Down v Kerry, St Conleth’s Park, Newbridge, 1.30pm
Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)
(ET if necessary)