Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship – Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup Final – Kerry 4-17 Meath 3-11

Kerry defeated Meath by 4-17 to 3-11 in the Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship – Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup Final on Saturday September 3rd at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Conway leads Kerry’s blistering late blitz

Kerry 4-17 Meath 3-11

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Kerry continued their dominance of this grade as a devastating late salvo saw off a determined Meath side at Semple Stadium on Saturday.

The sides were deadlocked on 2-14 to 3-11 with five minutes to go before the Kingdom fired 2-3 to wrap up a fifth straight title.
Kerry led by 2-6 to 1-8 at the break thanks to an Eric Leen goal on the stroke of half-time. Shane Conway had scored a stunning early goal.

Three points by Conway, two from Barry O’Mahony and one each from Leen and Padraig O’Mahony eased the Kingdom five points clear midway through the second half, but Meath captain Will Flynn got two goals to level the contest. Kerry responded as champions do with a scrambled goal from O’Mahony and superb points from Conway, Colin Sheehy and O’Mahony before an injury time goal by Gearoid O’Mahony sealed victory.

Scorers – Kerry: S Conway 1-8 ( 0-4fs), E Leen, P O’Mahony 1-2 each, G O’Mahony 1-0, B O’Mahony 0-3, C Sheehy 0-2. Meath: W Flynn 2-0, P Farrell 0-5fs), M Mullin (-1, J Leavy, J McNally 0-2 each, S Coffey 0-1 s-l.

Kerry – A O’Sullivan; B McAuliffe, L Mullins, P Maunsell; E Murphy, C O’Keeffe, G Fennessy; T O’Connor, E Leen; C Sheehy, B O’Mahony, N O’Mahony; M O’Connor, S Conway, P O’Mahony
Subs: G O’Mahony for Fennessy (44), M McCarthy for O’Connor (49), T Quinlan for Sheehy (60), D Goulding for O’Mahony (60), C Galway for Leen (60)

Meath: C Ennis; S Coffey, C McNally, B Kelly; J Ryan, B McGowan, J McNally; R Byrne, S Martin; W Flynn, J Leavy, M Mullin; M Cullen, P Farrell, D Gilmartin
Subs: B Dowling for Byrne (13), D Murtagh for Gilmartin (37), B Reilly for McNally (41), C O Farrell for Cullen (56).

Ref – P Burke (Kilkenny)

Fixture Details

03.09.2016 (Sat)
Electric Ireland GAA Hurling All-Ireland Minor B Championship – Peadar Ó Liatháin Cup Final
Semple Stadium, Thurles 14:00
An Mhí v Ciarraí
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

The Kerry Minor Hurling Team to play Meath in the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling B Championship Final in Semple Stadium Thurles on Saturday at 2:00pm is as follows:

1 Adam O’Sullivan Crotta O’Neills
2 Bryan McAuliffe Lixnaw
3 Liam Mullins Lixnaw
4 Philip Maunsell Kilmoyley
5 Evan Murphy Causeway
6 Conor O’Keeffe Lixnaw
7 Gearoíd Fennessy Kilgarvan
8 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
9 Eric Leen St Brendans
10 Colin Sheehy Lixnaw
11 Barry O’Mahony Crotta O’Neills
12 Niall O’Mahony Abbeydorney
13 Maurice O’Connor Kilmoyley
14 Shane Conway (C) Lixnaw
15 Padraig O’Mahony St Brendans
Fir Ionaid:
16 Robert Silles Lixnaw
17 Thomas Quinlan Crotta O’Neills
18 Darragh Behan Crotta O’Neills
19 Gary Carey Causeway
20 Micheál McCarthy Kenmare
21 Conor Galwey Ballyheigue
22 Darragh Goulding Ballyduff
23 Jeaic McKenna Crotta O’Neills
24 Ciarán Breen Tralee Parnells
Bainisteoir: John Hennessy (Ballyduff)
Róghnoirí: Jerome O’Sullivan (Crotta O’Neills), Eamonn Fitzgearld (Causeway), John Healy (Ballyheigue).
Treánalaí: John Barry (St Senans)

Additional Panel Members:
25 Jack O’Sullivan Ballyduff
26 Shane O’Mahony St Brendans
27 Brandon Conway Crotta O’Neills
28 Gerard Leen Causeway
29 Geroid O’Mahony Causeway
30 Adrian Nolan St Brendans
31 Chris Creedon Kilgarvan
32 Sean O’Donoghue Crotta O’Neills