Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Final – Tipperary 1-21 Limerick 0-17

Tipperary defeated Limerick by 1-21 to 0-17 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Final on Sunday September 4th at Croke Park.

Tipperary see off Limerick to take minor hurling title

Tipperary 1-21 Limerick 0-17

By Eoghan Cormican, Croke Park for the Irish Examiner newspaper

It was a case of sweet redemption for the Tipperary minors as Liam Cahill’s young charges went one step further than was the case 12 months ago.

The crucial score arrived early in the second-half as Jake Morris, put through by Mark Kehoe, drilled a low shot into the bottom right corner of Mark O’Kelly’s goal to put Tipperary 1-10 to 0-8 clear.

The centre-forward, mind you, was lucky to remain on the field having struck out at Limerick’s Josh Adams directly after the goal. Neither the linesman nor the referee saw the incident and Morris escaped without even a yellow card.

Limerick, through Brian Ryan (free), Ciarán O’Connor, Kyle Hayes and Paul O’Brien, tallied four of the next six scores, to bring it back to a three-point game. No closer would they come, however. Hayes and O’Brien both had goal chances, but both efforts were sent wide.

It wasn’t so clear in the first-half as Limerick rallied from five down to leave just the minimum between the sides at half-time. Their failure to find the net, ultimately, proved their downfall.

Colin English, Mark Kehoe, Lyndon Fairbrother, Shane Neville and Ger Browne were the Tipperary scorers in the final quarter as the favourites ran out deserved seven-point winners.

Scorers for Tipperary: J Morris (1-3); L Fairbrother (0-5, 0-4 frees); C English (0-4); S Neville (0-3); B McGrath (0-2, 0-1 free, 0-1 ’65), M Kehoe (0-2 each); D Walsh, G Browne (0-1 each).

Scorers for Limerick: B Ryan (0-11, 0-9 frees); C O’Connor, D Carroll, C Boylan, K Hayes, D Woulfe, P O’Brien (0-1 each).

Tipperary: C Barrett (Clonmel Óg); K O’Dwyer (Killenuale), M Whelan (Carrick Davins), T Murphy (JK Brackens); C Flanagan (Newport), B McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), J Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs); P Cadell (JK Brackens), G Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams); R Doody (Cappawhite), J Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg), C English (Fr Sheehy’s); L Fairbrother (JK Brackens), C Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), M Kehoe (Kilsheelan Kilcash)
Subs: S Neville (Lattin Cullen) for Doody (26 mins); G Dunne (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Murphy (36); D Walsh (Ballingarry) for Darcy (51); C Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields) for Browne (61).

Limerick: M O’Kelly (Croom); B Nash (South Liberties), C Nicholas (Monaleen), R Connolly (Adare); J Adams (Ballybrown), C O’Connor (Kilmallock), F Hourigan (Murroe/Boher); J Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), D Carroll (Newport); M O’Grady (Knockainey), A Barrett (Kilmallock), B Ryan (South Liberties); C Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), K Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), C Magner-Flynn (Killeedy)
Subs: P O’Brien (Mungret/St Paul’s) for Magner-Flynn (34); J Flynn (Patrickswell) for Carroll (36); D Woulfe (Kilmallock) for Barrett (42); M Bourke (Garryspillane) for Adams (44); D Quirke (Clonoulty Rossmore) for Flanagan (51); C O’Grady (Hospital/Herbertstown) for M O’Grady (60).

Referee: J Keenan (Wicklow).

Team News

Tipperary minor team manager Liam Cahill has named his side to face Limerick in their All Ireland Final clash which throws in at 1.15pm.

Showing one change from the their semi-final also, Tom Murphy returns to corner back having recovered from injury.

The Tipperary Minor team to take on Limerick lines out as follows;
1. Ciarán Barrett – Clonmel Óg
2. Killian O’Dwyer – Killenaule
3. Michael Whelan – Carrick Davins
4. Tom Murphy – J.K. Brackens
5. Cian Flanagan – Newport
6. Brian McGrath (Capt.) – Loughmore-Castleiney
7. Jerome Cahill – Kilruane MacDonaghs
8. Paddy Cadell – J.K. Brackens
9. Ger Browne – Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams
10. Rian Doody – Cappawhite
11. Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg
12. Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s
13. Cian Darcy – Kilruane MacDonaghs
14. Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
15. Lyndon Fairbrother – J.K. Brackens

The management team of Pat Donnelly (Manager) (South Liberties), selectors Brian Foley (South Liberties), John Mulqueen (Bruff) and Anthony Daly (Coach) has released their team to face Tipperary in this Sunday clash with Dublin in the All Ireland minor hurling final in Croke Park at 1.15pm.

The Limerick minor hurling team and panel is as follows –
1. Mark O Kelly (Croom), 2. Brian Nash (South Liberties), 3. Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), 4. Ronan Connolly Adare, 5. Josh Adams (Ballybrown), 6. Ciaran O Connor (Kilmallock), 7. Finn Hourigan (Murroe/Boher), 8. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 9. Darragh Carroll (Newport), 10. Michael O Grady (Knockainey), 11. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock), 12. Brian Ryan (South Liberties), 13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), 14. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)(Captain), 15. Cian Magner Flynn (Killeedy).
16. Jamie Power (Monaleen), 17. Micheal Bourke (Garryspillane), 18. John Flynn (Patrickswell), 19. Darren Golden O Mahony (Monaleen), 20. Dan Minehan (Ahane), 21. Conor O Grady (Hospital/Herbertstown), 22. Paul O Brien (Mungret/St. Pauls), 23. Paul O Riordan (Bruff), 24. David Wolfe (Kilmallock).

In a repeat of this year’s Munster Final, Tipperary take on Limerick in the All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final which opens the day’s events in Croke Park at 1.15pm.

Ahead of contesting their sixth championship match in the current campaign, Tipperary have shown great maturity and unity since their opening round loss to Waterford back in April by getting their challenge well and truly back on track. That renaissance has given hope to the county claiming the Irish Press Cup for the first time since 2012.

Under the watchful eye of manager Liam Cahill and his backroom team of Michael Bevans (coach), selectors -John Sheedy, TJ Ryan and Sean Corbett, the management team have plotted a way to the final for the second year in a row harnessing the experience of last year’s loss into a force to be reckoned with this time round. Keeping their side grounded and focused on the task at hand will be the main priority if Tipperary is to have a successful start to the day in Croke Park on Sunday.

Here too we send best wishes to the team and management and hope that the recent run of good form will continue unabated on Sunday. The referee for the minor final will be John Keenan (Wicklow).

The All-Ireland minor hurling final between Limerick and Tipperary will be a repeat of the Munster decider, which Tipp won by 1-24 to 0-10, Jake Morris (1-4) and Lyndon Fairbrother (0-7) were top scorers for Tipperary, who led by 0-13 to 0-7 at half-time.

Tipperary last won the All-Ireland title in 2012 while Limerick are seeking their first success since the GAA’s Centenary year in 1984. Cian Darcy scored 3-2, Rian Doody 2-2 and Mark Kehoe 1-4 as Tipperary hit Galway for 7-12 in the semi-final.

Limerick recovered well from the Munster final setback to beat Wexford in the All-Ireland quarter-final, followed by a win over Dublin in the semi-final. Brian Ryan scored 0-10 (0-8 frees) for Limerick in the semi-final.

Limerick 2-11 Clare 1-8
Limerick 0-19 Waterford 0-17
Tipperary 1-24 Limerick 0-10 (Munster final)
Limerick 0-17 Wexford 0-9 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Limerick 1-18 Dublin 0-15 (All-Ireland semi-final)

Waterford 1-20 Tipperary 1-17
Tipperary 2-15 Clare 0-12
Tipperary 0-23 Cork 1-15
Tipperary 1-24 Limerick 0-10 (Munster final)
Tipperary 7-12 Galway 2-12 (All-Ireland semi-final)

21 – Kilkenny (1931-35-36-50-60-61-62-72-73-75-77-81-88-90-91-93-2002-2003-2008-2010-2014)
19 – TIPPERARY (1930-32-33-34-47-49-52-53-55-56-57-59-76-80-82-96-2006-2007-2012)
18 – Cork (1928-37-38-39-41-51-64-67-69-70-71-74-78-79-85-95-98-2001)
10 – Galway (1983-92-94-99-2000-2004-2005-2009-2011-2015)
4 – Dublin (1945-46-54-65)
3 – Wexford (1963-66-68)
3 – LIMERICK (1940-58-84)
3 – Offaly (1986-87-89)
2 – Waterford (1929-48)
1 – Clare (1997)