AIB Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) 0-15 Kilgarvan (Kerry) 0-5

Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) defeated Kilgarvan (Kerry) by 0-15 to 0-5 in the AIB Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Saturday October 29th at Walsh Park Waterford.

Jack Lyons points Ballyduff to Munster semis

Report by Tomás McCarthy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Ballyduff Lower (Waterford) 0-15 Kilgarvan (Kerry) 0-5: Ballyduff Lower outsmarted a plucky Kilgarvan at Walsh Park on Saturday to make the last four of the Munster junior hurling championship.

Front men Jack Lyons (0-4) and Eoin Cummins (0-3) shone for the Waterford champions who led from start to finish. Neil Sullivan’s men will host Tipperary representatives Ballybacon/Grange in the semi-finals.

Scorers for Ballyduff Lower: J Lyons 0-4; E Cummins 0-3; Brian Power (2fs), D Cheasty 0-2 each; C Dunphy, J Kennedy, D Reade (s-l), R Coffey O’Shea 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilgarvan: S Godfrey 0-4 (1f, 1 65’); J M Foley 0-1 (1f).

BALLYDUFF LOWER: M Atkins; M Millea, J O’Leary, A Carroll; M De Paor, P Kennedy, Bryan Power; C Power, Brian Power; D Reade, J Kennedy, C Dunphy; D Cheasty, J Lyons, E Cummins
Subs: R Coffey O’Shea for J Kennedy (41); G O’Rourke for Millea (57); D Larkin for O’Leary (57); R Murray for Atkins (61); D Carlin for Lyons (61).

KILGARVAN: F O’Donoghue; Philip Healy, Pádraig Healy, T Healy; C Cremin, J Kelliher, S O’Sullivan; P Cremin, G Donovan; S Godfrey, K O’Sullivan, P O’Sullivan; J Healy-Rae, J M Foley, P O’Shea
Subs: D O’Sullivan for Healy-Rae (39); F O’Sullivan for P O’Sullivan (47); P O’Sullivan for Donovan (57).

Referee: N Wall (Cork)