AIB Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Mayfield (Cork) 4-34 St Patricks (Limerick) 2-2

Mayfield (Cork) defeated St Patricks (Limerick) by 4-34 to 2-2 in the AIB Munster Junior Club Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday October 30th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Mayfield go on scoring spree as St Patrick’s fall apart

By Brendan Buckley for the Irish Examiner newspaper

St Patrick’s (Limerick) 2-2 Mayfield (Cork) 4-34: Cork champions Mayfield eased into the semi-finals of the Munster club JHC in this one-sided Gaelic Grounds affair.

The Limerick side were under strength and offered little resistance as Mayfield marched on to meet Bodyke. Goals from Shane Duggan (2), Shane Kelly and Patrick Duggan had Mayfield 4-13 to 2-0 ahead at half time. Padraig Reale got both St Patrick’s goals.

The second half was more one way traffic with a total of 12 players accounting for 4-33 from play for the Cork city side.

Scorers for St Patrick’s: R Reale (2-0), J Mullins (0-2, frees).

Scorers for Mayfield: S Duggan (2-6), N Kely (0-9 ,1 free), S Kelly (1-2), K Walsh, I Looney (0-4 each), P Duggan (1-1), D O’Neill, K Punch, D Hayes (0-2 each), C O’Sullivan, S O’Donovan (0-1 each).

ST. PATRICK’S: D Geary; R McMahon, J Madden, T Quigley; A Kett, W Cronin, J Greenwood; K Maher, K Stephenson; M Downey, J Mullins, P Reale; C Rochford, B Twomey, B Doherty.
Subs: D Clancy for McMahon (40), A Hannigan for Twomey (40), G Mullins for Rochford (43), S McNamara for Reale (43).

MAYFIELD: R O’Keeffe; K Brosnan, D Lucey, B O’Leary; G Looney, S O’Donovan, G Lehane; K Punch, D Hayes; S Kelly, N Kelly, D O’Neill; S Duggan, K Walsh, P Duggan
Subs: C Bond for Lehane (h-t), I Looney for P Duggan (37), C O’Sullivan for Punch (h-t), S Crowley for Looney (43), P Hegarty for S Kelly (49).

Referee: T Walsh (Waterford).