Hall of Fame Winners – 2016 Munster GAA Awards

Hall of Fame Winners Announced for 2016 Munster GAA Awards
Cork and Limerick Legends to join elite band

Cork ace forward, Charlie McCarthy, and Limerick football star, John Quane, are the latest Munster legends to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, it was announced today. The two greats will receive their awards at the Munster GAA Awards Gala Dinner on Saturday, December 10th in the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork.

This year’s Hurling Hall of Fame goes to Charlie McCarthy of St. Finbarr’s and Cork who has given distinguished service as a player and coach both at club and inter-county level. As a player, he terrorised many corner backs with his dazzling skills throughout his club and inter-county career, which lasted the best part of two decades. He was a dual inter-county minor, winning a Munster medal in both hurling and football. He captained his Cork to All-Ireland senior glory in 1978 completing a coveted 3-in-a-row of titles for the Rebel County.

His honours as an inter-county player include 7 All-Ireland medals and 12 Munster medals between minor, under 21 and senior grades along with 4 National hurling league medals. He also captained Munster to Railway Cup glory. At club level his honours included two All-Ireland, four Munster and five County titles. His record speaks for itself among the greats of Cork and hurling. After he retired he became involved in coaching at club and inter-county level. The highlight was when he coached his club to County senior success.

14 May 1980; Charlie McCarthy, Cork, Hurling. Picture credit; Ray McManus/SPORTSFILE

14 May 1980; Charlie McCarthy, Cork, Hurling. Picture credit; Ray McManus/SPORTSFILE

The Football Hall of Fame award goes to John Quane of Galtee Gaels and Limerick who was an ever present member of the Limerick Senior Football teams for 14 years from 1991 to 2005. The inspirational midfielder played in the 1991 Munster Senior Football Final against Kerry in Killarney in his first year on the senior team. He was a cornerstone of the teams that came so near to winning the Munster Finals of 2003 and 2004. His heroic performances merited an All Star nomination in 2002.

John represented Munster in the Railway Cup on numerous occasions, a highlight being his contribution to the 1999 win. A career highlight was his selection for the International Rules Series in 1999. John won his sole Limerick Senior Football Championship with Glencunane Rovers in 1991 and his clean sweep of county medals was completed by Galtee Gaels winning the junior championship in 1988 and the intermediate title in 1993. A true legend of Limerick football, John will go down as one of the best to have worn the green and white.

13 July 2002; John Quane, Limerick. Football. Picture credit; Damien Eagers / SPORTSFILE

13 July 2002; John Quane, Limerick. Football. Picture credit; Damien Eagers / SPORTSFILE

Commenting on the announcement of the Hall of Fame winners for 2015, Jerry O’Sullivan, Chairman of Munster Council said: “Charlie McCarthy was one of the best forwards ever to play for Cork and played a major role in Cork’s 3 in-a-row successes between 1976 and 78. He also had a stellar underage career. John Quane will rank as one of the best players never to win a Munster championship although he was agonisingly close on a couple of occasions. He ranks among Limerick’s very best footballers. The great playing skills and many achievements of both Charlie and John are worthy of recognition and I am delighted to see them honoured with this year’s Hall of Fame awards”

Other 2016 award winners also announced today are Micheál Mac Conmara of An Clár who receives the Special Service Award for his long and distinguished service to Scór; Cork’s Michael Hurley for Under 21 Football, Clare’s David Conroy of Clare for Intermediate Hurling and Jamie Lee of Limerick for Junior Football.

For further information, please contact:
Ger Ryan, Munster GAA PRO, Email: pro.munster@gaa.ie Tel: 086 8149146