Senior Hurling & Camogie winners – 2016 Munster GAA Awards

Senior Hurler, Camogie, Club, Handball Winners Announced for
2016 Munster GAA Awards

Tipperary hurler, John McGrath, and Limerick Camogie player, Niamh Mulcahy, have been announced as the winners of the Hurler of the Year and Camogie Player of the Year respectively in the 2016 Munster GAA Awards. The awards will be presented on Saturday night at a gala dinner in the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork.

John McGrath, from the Loughmore-Castleiney club, made his championship debut against Cork in the Munster Quarter-Final this year, scoring 1 point and made a big impact on the game. He also scored a point in the in the semi-final against Limerick. John was at his explosive best in the Munster Final shooting 3-2 including a goal from a penalty and picked up the RTE Man of the Match Award. John received his first All-Star Award last month. He has also won many honours at underage level in both football and hurling with Tipperary.

28 April 2016; John McGrath, Tipperary. Tipperary Hurling Squad Portraits 2016. Thurles Sarsfields, Thurles, Co. Tipperary. Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

Niamh Mulcahy has been Limerick’s outstanding player of recent years and she has received All-Star nominations in 2015 and 2016 to go along with one from 2009, Intermediate Soaring Star awards in 2013 and 2014 and a Young Player of the Year award in 2007. Niamh has been involved with the Limerick Camogie team since 2005 and with the county she has won Division 2 League Titles in 2007 and 2013, Senior B Championship in 2007, Intermediate Championship in 2014.A most skilful player, Niamh scored 2-49 in this year’s championship making her the second highest scorer overall.

The Club of the Year Award goes to Clare with Ballyea being honoured having won their first Clare and Munster senior hurling championships this year. They took the Clare hurling world by storm winning their first senior title after a replay against Clonlara. They continued their good run in the Munster campaign with a thrilling win over Thurles Sarsfields after extra time and then defeated the famed Glen Rovers to be crowned Munster club champions for the first time.

The Handball Award goes to Aishling O’Keeffe, a member of famed Ballydesmond GAA Handball Club in Cork. She has been involved in Handball since a young age winning titles at all levels. In 2016 she won two Senior All Ireland titles and two Senior Munster titles in both Codes of Handball. Aishling is also very involved in coaching in her club and County.

Munster GAA Chairman Jerry O’Sullivan said “I would like to congratulate John, Niamh, Aishling and Ballyea on their well-deserved awards following their outstanding displays during 2016. They have set very high standards of achievement in their varied contributions to the family of Gaelic Games”

Other 2016 award winners announced today are Munster and All-Ireland minor medallists Jake Morris of Tipperary for minor hurling and David Clifford of Kerry for minor football.

For further information, please contact:
Ger Ryan, Munster GAA PRO
Tel: 086 8149146, Email –