Co-Op Munster Hurling League – Cork 1-28 Kerry 0-18

Cork defeated Kerry by 1-28 to 0-18 in the Co-Op Munster Hurling League on Sunday January 8th at Mallow.

Half-time changes help Cork ease clear of Kerry

Cork 1-28 Kerry 0-18

Report from the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork had 13 points to spare on Kerry in the opening round of the Co-op Superstores Munster SHL at Mallow yesterday.

Having been 1-12 to 0-14 in front at half-time, Darragh Fitzgibbon with the early goal, the Rebels actually fell behind as Kerry’s main scoring threat Shane Nolan got two quick points on the resumption. The Kingdom would only add two more to that tally, however, as Shane Kingston (two) and Mark Coleman produced an immediate Cork response.

From there, they pushed on, with Shane Kingston finishing with nine points while sub Luke Meade also made his presence felt. Michael Cahalane finished with four points and could have had a goal but for a good Aidan McCabe save.

Scorers for Cork: S Kingston (0-9, 3 frees), D Fitzgibbon (1-2), M Cahalane (0-4), S Harnedy (0-2, frees), L Meade, M Coleman (3 frees) (0-3 each), B Cooper (0-2), L McLoughlin, B Lawton (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kerry: S Nolan (0-9, 7 frees), J Conway (0-3), M O’Leary, P O’Connor (0-2 each), M Boyle, J Egan (0-1 each).

CORK: P Collins; D Griffin, S McDonnell, K Burke; D Cahalane, C Joyce, M Coleman; L McLoughlin, B Lawton; S O’Keeffe, S Harnedy, S Kingston; M Cahalane, B Cooper, D Fitzgibbon
Subs: S O’Donoghue for Burke (12, injured), L Meade for Harnedy (half-time, injured), A Cadogan for O’Keeffe (58), C Murphy for D Cahalane, C O’Leary for McLoughlin (both 61).

KERRY: A McCabe; S Weir, R Horgan, B Lyons; J O’Connor, D Dineen, T O’Connor; D Collins, P O’Connor; M O’Leary, M Boyle, B O’Leary; J Goulding, S Nolan, J Egan
Subs: J Conway for B O’Leary (6, injured), T Casey for Goulding (42), P Boyle for M O’Leary, P Lucid for Egan (both 53), J Godley for O’Connor (58).

Referee: T Walsh (Waterford)

Match Preview

Team News

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Kerry on Sunday at 2pm in Mallow has been named as follows:

1. Anthony Nash – Kanturk

2. David Griffin – Carrigaline

3. Stephen McDonnell – Glen Rovers

4. Killian Burke – Midelton

5. Damian Cahalane – St. Finbarr’s

6. Christopher Joyce – Na Piarsaigh

7. Mark Coleman – Blarney

8. Lorcan McLoughlin – Kanturk

9. Brian Lawton – Castlemartyr

10. Shane o Keeffe – Blackrock

11. Seamus Harnedy – St Ita’s

12. Shane Kingston – Douglas

13. Michael Cahalane – Bandon

14. Bill Cooper – Youghal

15. Darragh Fitzgibbon – Charleville

16. Pa Collins – Ballinhassig

17. Darren Browne- Kanturk

18. Colm Spillane – Castlelyons

19. Jack Sheehan – Erins Own

20. Sean O Donoghue – Inisscarra

21. Cormac Murphy – Mallow

22. Chris O Leary – Valley Rovers

23. Robbie O Flynn – Erins Own

24. Luke Meade – Newcestown

25. Alan Cadagon – Douglas

26. Michael O Halloran – Blackrock

Admission Details

General Admission – €10
Concession (Students / OAPs) – €5
Under 16s free

Click here to buy tickets in advance