Allianz Football League Division 4 – Limerick 0-14 Waterford 0-8

Limerick defeated Waterford by 0-14 to 0-8 in Round 6 of the Allianz Football League Division 4 on Saturday March 25th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Treaty cruise to third win on the trot

Limerick 0-14 Waterford 0-8

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Limerick made it three NFL wins in a row as they eased away from Waterford at Fraher Field last night. Billy Lee’s men rattled off seven points on the spin in the second half with Danny Neville to the fore at full-forward.

Déise number nine Michael Curry slotted 0-3 from play as Waterford recovered from a slow start to level the contest by half-time, 0-5 to 0-5. Darragh Tracey hit the post before James Naughton landed Limerick’s opener after nine minutes. Curry equalised immediately.

Brian Fanning and Danny Neville singles left it 0-3 to 0-1 in favour of the visitors before Donie Breathnach replied from a free.
Limerick posted seven first-half wides but Cian Sheehan and Ger Collins (free) kept their noses in front approaching the break. Curry kicked a late double to tie the scores.

Aidan Trihy edged Waterford into the lead for the first time five minutes into the second period. But after Limerick goalkeeper Brian Scanlon levelled it again with a long-range free, the Treaty kicked on to claim a comfortable win.

Scorers – Limerick: D Neville 0-3, B Scanlon (f), S O’Dea, I Corbett, B Fanning, J Naughton, C Sheehan, G Collins (f), S O’Carroll, P Scanlon, S McSweeney, J Lee 0-1 each. Waterford: M Curry 0-3, D Breathnach 0-2 (2fs), S Prendergast, A Trihy, P Whyte (f) 0-1 each.

Limerick: B Scanlon; G Noonan, J McCarthy, S O’Dea; B Fanning, C Fahy, P White; D Tracey, D Ward; P Nash, C Sheehan, J Naughton; G Collins, D Neville, I Corbett
Subs: B Donovan for Nash (44, BC), S O’Carroll for Sheehan (44), S McSweeney for Ward (59), P Scanlon for Collins (62), P Quinn for White (65), J Lee for Neville (66).

Waterford: S Enright; J McGrath, T O’Gorman, S Dalton; A Trihy, S Prendergast, K Murphy; T Prendergast, M Curry; M O’Halloran, J Veale, C Murray; P Whyte, D Breathnach, F Ó Cuirrín
Subs: G Crotty for Veale (48), D Guiry for Dalton (65).

Referee: J Bermingham (Cork).

Team News

Tom McGlinchey and his selectors have named the below team to face Limerick in Round 6 of the Allianz National Football League on Saturday night in Fraher Field at 7pm!

1. Stephen Enright (Ballinacourty)
2. James McGrath (The Nire)
3. Thomas O’Gorman (The Nire)
4. Stephen Dalton (De La Salle)
5. Kenny Murphy (Ardmore)
6. Stephen Prendergast (Kilrossanty)
7. Ray O’Ceallaigh (An Rinn)
8. Tommy Prendergast (Kilrossanty)
9. Michael Curry (Rathgormack)
10. Michael O’Halloran (Ballinacourty)
11. Donie Breathnach (An Rinn)
12. Conor Murray (Rathgormack)
13. Paul Whyte (Kilrossanty)
14. Joey Veale (Kilrossanty)
15. Fearghal Ó Cuirrín (An Rinn)