Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Waterford 2-21 Clare 1-22

Waterford defeated Clare by 2-21 to 1-22 in Round 5 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on Sunday March 26th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Devine lands decisive score for Waterford

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A


Report by Eoin Brennan for

A late goal from substitute Tom Devine catapulted Waterford into the Allianz League quarter-finals for a third successive year at the expense of holders Clare in front of 6,640 in Cusack Park this afternoon.

Having led for 50 minutes of the tie, the hosts were sucker-punched at the death to suffer their first home defeat in two years and send them into a relegation play-off against Dublin next weekend. Waterford also started the brighter with Shane Bennett’s fifth minute goal ensuring a 1-3 to 0-0 advantage with the aid of the breeze at their backs.

However, led by Podge Collins, Clare would finally settle with an unanswered 1-6 tally of their own including a glorious 15th minute goal from the Cratloe dual star, with five subsequent points from the returning Tony Kelly actually lifting Clare to a 1-13 to 1-9 lead by the 34th minute.

Two late Pauric Mahony frees lessened the damage by the break however at 1-13 to 1-11, with a further brace on the restart levelling up the tie by the 39th minute. Clare responded with four successive points from Kelly, Collins, John Conlon and Cathal McInerney to nudge 1-17 to 1-13 clear by the 45th minute.

However, mainly through Mahony’s unerring accuracy from placed balls, the visitors stayed in touch and were only a point in arrears when substitute Devine struck for the decisive goal in the 64th minute, albeit that goalkeeper Andrew Fahey produced a super initial save before the ball was flicked over the line at the second attempt.

Clare hit back, but late points from David Fitzgerald and replacement Bobby Duggan were matched by Stephen Bennett and Tommy Ryan as Waterford held on for their third successive away victory to set up a quarter-final showdown with Galway next weekend.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-10 (8fs), Shane Bennett 1-1, Tom Devine 1-1, Stephen Bennett 0-3, Brian O’Halloran 0-2, Austin Gleeson 0-2, Patrick Curran 0-1, Tommy Ryan 0-1

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-7 (5fs), Podge Collins 1-3, Aron Shanagher 0-2, John Conlon 0-2, Cathal McInerney 0-2, Ian Galvin 0-1, David McInerney 0-1, Jason McCarthy 0-1, Jamie Shanahan 0-1, David Fitzgerald 0-1, Bobby Duggan 0-1.

WATERFORD: Stephen O’Keeffe; Shane McNulty, Barry Coughlan, Shane Fives; Stephen Daniels, Tadhg de Burca, Conor Gleeson; Austin Gleeson, Kevin Moran; Shane Bennett; Michael Walsh, Pauric Mahony; Brian O’Halloran, Stephen Bennett, Patrick Curran.
Subs: Tom Devine for Curran (42), Mikey Kearney for A. Gleeson (57), Tommy Ryan for O’Halloran (58), Colin Dunford for Shane Bennett (69), Stephen Roche for Coughlan (70+6, inj).

CLARE: Andrew Fahey; David McInerney, Cian Dillon, Seadna Morey; Jason McCarthy, Conor Cleary, David Fitzgerald; Jamie Shanahan, Tony Kelly; Cathal Malone, Podge Collins, John Conlon; Aron Shanagher, Cathal McInerney, Ian Galvin.
Subs: Aaron Cunningham for I. Galvin (25), Patrick Donnellan for McCarthy (65), Colm Galvin for Malone (65), Bobby Duggan for C. McInerney (69), Paul Flanagan for D. McInerney (75, inj)

REFEREE: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Team News

Clare Senior Hurling starting 15 for Allianz NHL game V Waterford

Clare Senior Hurling Joint Managers Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have named their starting 15 to face Waterford in Round 5 of the 2017 Allianz National Hurling League Division 1A at Cusack Park, Ennis, this Sunday (26 March 2017) at 3.00 p.m.

The team shows four changes from the side that started in the Banner’s win over Dublin in Cusack Park two weeks ago.

Whitegate’s Andrew Fahy replaces Patrick Kelly in goal, Jason McCarthy of Inagh Kilnamona makes his starting debut in the league by coming in for Brendan Bugler at wingback, Ballyea’s Tony Kelly replaces the injured David Reidy (ankle) at midfield and Cathal McInerney of Cratloe starts at corner forward in place of Peter Duggan.

Tony Kelly captains the Clare side. The naming of the team had been due to take place last night but was delayed due to the involvement of a number of senior players in club action (Under 21 Championship).

Clare Starting 15 versus Waterford (numbers as per match day programme):

1. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)

2. David McInerney (Tulla)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

22. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. Conor Cleary (St. Josephs Miltown)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea) Captain

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. John Conlon (Clonlara)

13. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
18. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)

16. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)
17. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
15. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
19. Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
20. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
21. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
5. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
23. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)
24. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
25. Gearóid O’Connell (Ballyea)
26. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)