Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final – Dublin 2-11 Clare 0-10

Dublin defeated Clare by 2-11 to 0-10 in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship Quarter-Final on Monday August 7th at O’Moore Park Portlaoise.

Electric Ireland MFC Q-F: McGarry impresses for Dublin

DUBLIN 2-11 CLARE 0-10

Report from GAA.ie

Ross McGarry was the star of the show as Dublin defeated Clare at O’Moore Park. A first half McGarry goal ensured Dublin led at the break by 1-3 to 0-5.

Clare, beaten comprehensively by Kerry in the Munster decider, produced a much improved performance. Dermot Coughlan was sharp from fres, while Gavin Cooney also impressed for Clare.

Five minutes after the restart McGarry added a second goal for Dublin. In the closing stages Sean Hawkshaw kicked a couple of good points as Dublin advanced.

Scorers for Dublin: Ross McGarry 2-4 (3fs), Sean Hawkshaw and Ciaran Archer (1 45) 0-2 each, Eoin O’Dea, Karl Lynch Bissett, and Fionnan O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Dermot Coughlan 0-4 (3fs), Gavin Cooney 0-3 (2fs), Gearoid Cahill, Jack Sheedy, and Ross O’Doherty 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: David O’Hanlon; Darren Maher, Peadar O’Cofaigh, Liam Flatman; Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Eoin O’Dea; Donal Ryan, Mark Tracey; Karl Lynch Bissett, James Doran, Daniel Brennan; Ross McGarry, Sean Hawkshaw, David Lacey
Subs: Fionnan O’Sullivan for Brennan, Ciaran Archer for Lacey, Aaron Lynch for Maher, Adam Byrne for Ryan, Harry Ladd for McGarry, Gavin Nangle for Kennedy.

CLARE: Stephen Ryan; Jack Sheedy, Jayme O’Sullivan, Joe Miniter; Diarmuid Ryan, Fergal Donnellan, Colin McNelis; Danny Griffin, Keith White; Dermot Coughlan, Ross Phelan, Sean Rouine; Ross O’Doherty, Gavin Cooney, Gearoid Cahill
Subs: Seamus Casey for Cahill, Ciaran O’Donoghue for Phelan, Aidan Reynolds for Griffin, Paudie Kelly for O’Sullivan, Connor Dillon for White, Colm O’Brien for O’Doherty.

Team News