2017 Munster GAA Awards

The 2017 Munster GAA Awards took place on Saturday December 9th at a gala dinner in the Fota Island Resort Hotel in Cork.

Click here to view photos from the 2017 Munster GAA Awards

Footballer, Ladies Footballer, Manager of the Year and
Under 21 Hurler Announced for 2017 Munster GAA Awards

Kerry’s James O’Donoghue and Waterford’s Michelle Ryan have secured the Senior Footballer and Ladies’ Footballer accolades respectively in the 2017 Munster GAA Awards. The Manager of the Year award goes to Cork senior hurling manager, Kieran Kingston and the under 21 Hurling Award goes to Aaron Gillane of Limerick.

Speaking on the announcement of these awards Jerry O’Sullivan, Chairman of Munster GAA said “James O’Donoghue and Michelle Ryan contributed hugely to their teams’ performances this year and are deserving winners of the top playing awards in Gaelic Football and Ladies Gaelic Football respectively. Aaron Gillane was the star of the under 21 hurling. It was marvellous to see the Munster Hurling champions, Cork defy expectations to win three games and a deserved Munster Championship. Their Manager, Kieran Kingston, deserves great credit for bringing Munster honours back to the Rebel County. Congratulations to all the 2017 Award winners.”

Click here to view photos from the 2017 Munster GAA Awards

The full list of Munster GAA Award winners for 2017 are as follows:

Austin Flynn (Waterford) – Hurling Hall of Fame
Seamus Clancy (Clare) – Football Hall of Fame
John Costigan (Tipperary) – Distinguished Service Award
Killian Spillane (Kerry) – Under 21 Football
Aaron Gillane (Limerick) – Under 21 Hurling
Brian Turnbull (Cork) – Minor Hurling
David Clifford (Kerry) – Minor Football
Patrice Diggin (Kerry) – Camogie
Michelle Ryan (Waterford) – Ladies Football
JP O’Connor (Limerick) – Handball
Kanturk (Cork) – Club
Mark Coleman (Cork) – Senior Hurling
James O’Donoghue (Kerry) – Senior Football
Kieran Kingston (Cork) – Manager

Click here to view photos from the 2017 Munster GAA Awards