Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U21 Championship Final – Tipperary 3-13 Cork 1-16

Tipperary defeated Cork by 3-13 to 1-16 in the Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U21 Championship Final on Sunday August 26th at the Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Match Highlights

Match Report

Tipperary stun Cork in dramatic BGE Under 21 decider

Bord Gais Energy All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Final


Report By Cian O’Connell for

Another gripping game was added to the 2018 hurling collection as Tipperary delivered when it truly counted to defeat Cork.

Thumped in the Munster decider by 13 points this was a remarkable turnaround from Tipperary with substitute Conor Stakelum supplying the decisive goal deep into stoppage time.

Craving success and an injection of hope following a harrowing campaign in the senior ranks Tipperary received both at the Gaelic Grounds as Liam Cahill’s outfit prevailed. That was the crucial blow as Tipperary’s heart and honesty was rewarded with Cork left reflecting on what might have been.

With 16,173 spectators watching on the underdogs snapped into the contest and when Jake Morris made the Cork net dance from a 15th minute penalty Tipperary led by 1-5 to 0-1.

It was a significant early statement from Tipperary, but Cork’s response illustrated why they are such a highly regarded outfit down by the banks of the Lee. For all Cork’s class the key first half ingredients demonstrated by the favourites were character and composure to respond following a gritty Tipperary start.

In a glorious eight minute spell Cork reeled off 1-6 without reply to alter the complexion of the game in dramatic fashion. Robbie O’Flynn’s speed and Conor Cahalane’s industry were instrumental as Denis Ring’s team came thundering back impressively.

Cahalane struck two sweet points from play, while Declan Dalton (free), Jack O’Connor, O’Flynn, and captain Shane Kingston all raised white flags narrowing the gap to one. Then Cahalane dashed through the heart of the Tipperary defence to score a brilliant goal and Cork were suddenly loaded with belief again.

By the time the interval rolled around Cork were content to be 1-9 to 1-7 ahead considering how plucky and purposeful Tipperary had been initially. That Tipperary passion was evident immediately after the restart once more as sharp points from Colin English, Morris (free), and Cian Darcy edged them back in front.

Dalton and Ger Browne traded scores ensuring Tipperary surprisingly led at the three quarter mark by 1-11 to 1-10 with the issue delicately poised.

There was no shortage of drams as a Morris free put Tipp two clear, but Cork were back on terms by the 50th minute following points from Darragh Fitzgibbon and Cahalane. Tipperary’s defiance, though, remained a critical part of this tale with Stephen Nolan blasting a goal when a Colin English attempt fell short.

Under serious duress Cork did clip four points on the spin courtesy of Dalton (2), replacement Brian Turnbull, and Tim O’Mahony to hit the front two minutes into additional time.

Admirably Tipperary stayed composed with Stakelum’s major briskly followed by a David Gleeson point and Cahill punched the Limerick air gleefully at the end to salute a stirring Tipperary performance.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jake Morris 1-4 (3fs), Stephen Nolan and Conor Stakelum 1-0 each, Jerome Cahill 0-3, Cian Darcy 0-2, Colin English, Ger Browne, David Gleeson, and Paudie Feehan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Conor Cahalane 1-3, Declan Dalton 0-5 (5fs), Robbie O’Flynn 0-3, Tim O’Mahony, Shane Kingston, Brian Turnbull, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Jack O’Connor 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: Barry Hogan; Eoghan Connolly, Brian McGrath, Killian O’Dwyer; Podge Campion, Robert Byrne, Dillon Quirke; Stephen Nolan, Ger Browne; Colin English, Jerome Cahill, Paudie Feehan; Jake Morris, Mark Kehoe, Cian Darcy.
Subs: Conor Stakelum for Feehan (29), David Gleeson for Darcy (41), Craig Morgan for O’Dwyer (49), Paddy Caddell for Campion (52), Lyndon Fairbrother for English (60+1).

CORK: Ger Collins; David Lowney, David Griffin, Niall O’Leary; Billy Hennessy, Mark Coleman, Eoghan Murphy; Conor Cahalane, Darragh Fitzgibbon; Robbie O’Flynn, Declan Dalton, Shane Kingston; Liam Healy, Tim O’Mahony, Jack O’Connor.
Subs: Brian Turnbull for Healy (38), Ger Mellerick for O’Connor (57).

REFEREE: John Keenan (Wicklow).

Fixture Details

26.08.2018 (Sun)
Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U21 Championship Final
Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 17:30
Corcaigh v Tiobraid Árann
Referee: John Keenan (Cill Mhantáin)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News