2012 / 2013 All Ireland Scór Sinsear Final

The 2012 / 2013 All Ireland Scór Sinsear Final took place on Saturday April 27th 2013 at Derry City and the results are as follows –

All-Ireland Tráth na gCeist Champions 2013: Clan na nGael (Roscommon)

Rince Foirne All-Ireland Champions 2013: Omagh St. Enda’s GAC (Tyrone)

Amhránaíocht Aonair All-Ireland Champions 2013: Newcastle GAA (Tipperary)

Ceol Uirlise All-Ireland Champions 2013: Erin’s Hope GAA (Dublin)

Aithriseoireacht All-Ireland Champions 2013: JK Brackens (Tipperary)

Bailéad Ghrúpa All-Ireland Champions 2013: St Dominic’s GAA (Roscommon)

Nuachleas All-Ireland Champions 2013: Moate All-Whites (Westmeath)

Rince Seit All-Ireland Champions 2013: JK Brackens (Tipperary)


Allianz Football League Division 4 Final – Limerick 0-16 Offaly 1-11

Limerick’s late flurry secures the silverware

By Marie Crowe for the Sunday Independent newspaper

Limerick left it late to seal the deal in the Division 4 final of the Allianz Football League after a tightly fought contest. Offaly got off to the better start, opening the scoring with a point from Ken Casey. Seanie Buckley equalised soon after, but two searing runs from Brian O’Connor set up points for Casey and Brian Darby. Within minutes Limerick were dealt another blow when Ross Brady found the net, giving Offaly a five-point cushion after just 10 minutes. A tough period followed for Limerick and they didn’t get on the scoreboard again until the 17th minute when Ian Ryan converted a free. He followed it up with another minutes later to bridge the gap to four points. But Offaly responded with an expertly taken point from sharp-shooter Niall McNamee.

However, Ryan kicked over another three points, two frees and one from play, to keep his side within touching distance. The momentum swung in Limerick’s favour and Ian Corbett got on the scoresheet with five minutes to go in the first half, narrowing the gap to just one point. Stephen Lavin followed suit with a well-executed score a couple of minutes later to send the teams in level 1-5 to 0-8 at half-time. There was only a point between the two sides when they met in round two in Tullamore and this game looked on course for a similarly close result.

After the break, Stephen Lucey was on target for Limerick but two fantastic points from McNamee edged Offaly in front again. A series of wides from both sides followed before John Riordan tacked over a point to equalise for the table-toppers. Brian O’Connor answered with two fine points, while Limerick rued further wides and with 10 minutes to go they trailed by two. Lavin and Eoghan O’Connor brought the teams level again, making it all to play for in the last five, and a late point from Eoghan O’Connor followed by a ’45’ from Seamus Carroll sealed the deal for Limerick. So, with promotion to Division 3 already secured for the two sides, it’s full speed ahead to championship; both teams are in action in just over a month with Limerick taking on Cork in the Munster championship and Offaly facing Kildare in Leinster.

Scorers – Limerick: I Ryan 0-5 (4f), S Lavin, D O’Connor 0-2 each,I Corbett, S Lucey, T Lee, J Riordan, E O’Connor, S Carroll, S Buckley 0-1 each. Offaly: K Casey (1f), N McNamee 0-4 each, R Brady 1-0, B O’Connor 0-2, B Darby 0-1.

Limerick: D O’Sullivan; L O’Dwyer, M O’Riordan, P Browne; S Lavin, S Lucey, P Ranahan; B O’Brien, J Galvin; J Riordan, T Lee, S Buckley (c); E O’Connor, I Corbett, I Ryan

Subs: D O’Connor for T Lee (56), M Sheehan for S Lucey (57), S 0’Carroll for J Galvin (67), D Tracey for I Ryan (68).

Offaly: A Mulhall; S Pender, P McConway, B Darby; E Carroll, R Brady, M Brazil; R Dalton, A McNamee; G Guilfoyle, B O’Connor, N Darby; A Sullivan, N McNamee, K Casey

Subs: D Kelly for A McNamee (55), W Mulhall for A Sullivan (68).

Referee: C Branagan (Derry)

Team News

The Limerick Senior Football Team to play Offaly in the NFL Division 4 Final in Croke Park next Saturday is announced. John Galvin makes a welcome return from a cruciate knee ligament injury sustained against Fermanagh in April 2012. Donal O’Sullivan is named in goals as Brian Scanlan is carrying a quad injury which he suffered during the Tipperary league game.

1 Donal O’Sullivan

2 Andy Lane

3 Johnny McCarthy

4 Mark O’Riordan

5 Stephen Lavin

6 Paudie Browne

7 Pa Ranahan

8 Bobby O’Brien

9 John Galvin

10 John Riordan

11 Thomas Lee

12 Seanie Buckley Captain

13 Eoghan O’Connor

14 Ger Collins

15 Ian Ryan

All Ireland Minor A Camogie Championship Final – Cork 3-4 Kilkenny 1-10

Cronin the Cork saviour

By Ger McNally for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Kilkenny 1-10 Cork 3-04

Orla Cronin proved the Cork heroine in the All-Ireland minor A final at Nenagh on Saturday afternoon when her dramatic injury-time goal snatched a draw. The Cats, who were driven on by the excellent Miriam Walsh, thought they had done enough to win the game when they led by three points deep into injury time but, in the third minute of added on time, Cronin’s effort — which got a deflection on the way to the net, gave Noelle Murphy no chance.

The first half was a tight affair with both sides keen not to hand the initiative to their opponents. Kilkenny held a slender 0-4 to 0-3 at the break but that opening half didn’t hint at the drama that was to come. Cronin’s first goal in the 39th minute moved Cork into a three-point lead but Kilkenny hauled themselves back level with points from Walsh, Ciara Holden and Lydia Fitzpatrick. The excitement was building as the game moved into the final seven minutes and after quick-fire goals at either end from Linda Collins (Cork) and Niamh Donnelly there was still no separating them.

However, it seemed like Kilkenny had finally pulled away when Holden split the posts with a free and Walsh brought here total to five points with two further scores. Cork didn’t lose heart though and kept plugging away right to the very end and they got their reward with Cronin’s late strike forcing a replay on May 11.

Scorers for Kilkenny: M Walsh 0-5, L Fitzpatrick 0-3, N Donnelly 1-0, C Holden 0-2 (1f).

Scorers for Cork: O Cronin 2-2, L Collins 1-0, K Hickey 0-2.

KILKENNY: N Murphy; C Farrell, C Foley, M Kenneally; M Farrell, M O’Connell, A Butler; L Fitzpatrick, A Nolan; M Walsh, S Whelan, A Gannon, A Talbot, C Holden, M Corcoran.

Subs: N Donnelly, L Long.

CORK: A Lee; S Ring, L Treacy, A Curtin; E Kavanagh, L Callanan, S O’Leary; J Hosford, J Hennigan; C Murphy, O Cronin, K Hickey, A O’Connor, R Sheehan, L Collins.

Subs: H Looney, A Wallace, R O’Shea, O Healy.

Referee: J Dolan (Clare)