Munster U21 Hurling Final – Waterford 2-19 Tipperary 0-15

Waterford defeated Tipperary by 2-19 to 0-15 in the Bord Gais Energy Munster GAA Hurling Under 21 Championship Final on Wednesday July 27th at Walsh Park Waterford.

Waterford surge wins Munster U-21 Hurling Final

Munster U-21 Hurling Final


By Tomás McCarthy at Walsh Park for

Austin Gleeson produced an outrageous second half display as Waterford collected their first Munster under 21 title in 22 years at Walsh Park. The Mount Sion centre back blazed over five points (four from open play) and delivered an exhibition of high fielding to inspire his colleagues to a fourth provincial triumph.

The sides were level entering the last quarter but the hosts overpowered Tipperary by 1-8 to 0-1 across the closing fifteen minutes. Substitute Peter Hogan netted the decisive three pointer on 50 minutes while Stephen Bennett’s opportunistic first half strike also proved significant for Sean Power’s team. Joint captains Patrick Curran and Adam Farrell accepted the cup as the jubilant white and blue supporters swarmed the pitch afterwards.

Aside from man of the match Gleeson, the reliable Curran drilled over 0-8 during the sixty minutes. Shane Bennett showed tremendous energy at midfield and Tom Devine powered into the game during the second thirty. Conor Gleeson and Darragh Lyons were solid performers at the back.

Before an attendance of 8,843, Waterford reeled off the first four points. Patrick Curran converted three placed balls (two frees and a 65) before DJ Foran’s shot clipped in off the upright. Andrew Coffey opened Tipp’s account after the 12 minutes.

William Maher’s side settled into the contest and used the direct route into the full forward line. Points by Stephen Quirke, Coffey and Conor Lanigan levelled matters on 16 minutes. Mark O’Brien regained the Déise lead with a fine effort from midfield. With the next play, Coffey responded with his third point of the evening.

Josh Keane nudged Tipp in front for the first time on 21 minutes from a free. At the other end, DJ Foran burst through and passed inside to Patrick Curran but he was crowded out. Referee Johnny Murphy whistled a free and Curran obliged to leave it 0-6 each.

Determined play by Shane Bennett forced Barry Heffernan into over carrying and Murphy awarded another free in. Curran got a poor connection but Stephen Bennett pounced to rustle the back of the Tipp net (1-6 to 0-6). Keane had the last word of the first half with an injury time free as they trailed by two.

On the restart, Austin Gleeson lifted the home crowd with two long distance scorchers. Tipperary substitute Ronan Teehan pegged one back. Tom Devine and Curran opened a five point lead on 36 minutes (1-10 to 0-8).

Tipp stuck to their task. Coffey landed his fourth to start a mini-fightback. Two dazzling points by number fourteen Stephen Quirke and another Keane free whittled it down to a single. Colm Roche disrupted that momentum but a pair of Keane points equalised this contest for a fourth time approaching the last quarter (1-11 to 0-14).

Gleeson leaped to Waterford’s rescue again. Mark O’Brien and Stephen Bennett combined for Gleeson to wallop his third of the second period. Curran extended to two. With ten minutes left on the watch, Stephen Bennett’s astounding overhead pass put Peter Hogan in the clear. The substitute collected and unleashed a rasper to the bottom corner. Game, set and match.

The hosts cut loose during the closing stages. Devine, Curran and Stephen Bennett all tagged on late points. Fittingly, hero of the hour Gleeson closed it out with an injury time free. The newly crowned Munster champions progress to meet Ulster winners Antrim in the All Ireland semi final on August 20 at Semple Stadium.

Scorers for Waterford: P Curran 0-8, (0-6 frees, 0-1 ’65); Stephen Bennett 1-1; A Gleeson 0-5, (0-1 free), P Hogan 1-0, T Devine 0-2; DJ Foran, M O’Brien, C Roche all 0-1

Scorers for Tipperary: J Keane 0-6, 0-5 frees, A Coffey 0-4, S Quirke 0-3; C Lanigan, R Teehan 0-1 each.

WATERFORD: J Henley; D Lyons, C Gleeson, W Hahessy; M Harney, A Gleeson, C Prunty; C Roche, Shane Bennett; M O’Brien, T Devine, DJ Foran; M Kearney, Stephen Bennett, P Curran
Subs: P Hogan for C Roche (42 mins); J Fagan for M Kearney (57); D Ryan for D Lyons (60); B Whelan (Tramore) for W Hahessy (61); N Fives for DJ Foran (62).

TIPPERARY: B Hogan; T Fox, D Sweeney, P Maher; S Ryan, R Maher, B Heffernan; J Ryan, W Connors; B McCarthy, S Quirke, A Coffey; C Lanigan, M Russell, J Keane
Subs: R Teehan for Ryan (HT); P Ryan for Lanigan (52); M McCarthy for Coffey (57); T Nolana for B McCarthy (60).

Referee: J Murphy (Limerick)

Fixture Details

Bord Gais Energy Munster U/21 Hurling Championship Final:
Date: Wednesday 27th July
Teams: Tiobraid Árann v Portláirge
Time: 7.00pm
Extra Time if necessary i.e. 2 x 10 minute periods only
Venue: Walsh Park, Waterford
Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Ticket Information

This is an all-ticket game

Adult: €20.00
Juvenile: €5.00

Adult: €15.00
Juvenile: €5.00

Concession (Student/OAP): A rebate of €5.00 is available on full-priced ADULT tickets at the designated stile with valid ID PRIOR to entry

Click here to purchase tickets in advance

Team News

The Tipperary team to face Waterford in the Bord Gáis Energy Munster Hurling U21 Championship Final, tomorrow night, Wednesday July 27th in Walsh Park at 7pm has been announced by manager William Maher.

Forced to make one change due to injury of Jack Shelly (Mullinahone), Jason Ryan (Toomevara) is called into the starting line-up as Tipperary go in search of its first provincial title at the grade since 2010.

The Tipperary team lines out as follows –

1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
2. Paul Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
3. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
4. David Sweeney – Kiladangan
5. Jason Ryan – Toomevara
6. Ronan Maher (Capt.) – Thurles Sarsfields
7. Sean Ryan – Sean Treacys
8. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields
9. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
11. Mark Russell – Lattin Cullen
12. Andrew Coffey – Nenagh Éire Óg
13. Willie Connors – Kiladangan
14. Stephen Quirke – Moyle Rovers
15. Conor Lanigan – Thurles Sarsfields

The Waterford Under 21 Hurling team to face Tipperary has been named. Throw in on Wednesday evening in Walsh Park is at 7pm! Come on out and support our lads in the Munster Under 21 Hurling Final! #DeiseAbú

1. Jordan Henley (Tallow)
2. William Hahessy (Clonea)
3. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
4. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
5. Míchéal Harney (Bunmahon)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
8. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
9. Colm Roche (Shamrocks)
10. DJ Foran (Portlaw)
11. Tom Devine (Modeligo)
12. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) – (Jt Capt.)
14. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
15. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)