Dean Ryan Cup Under 16.5 A Hurling Final – Thurles CBS 3-15 Midleton CBS 2-15

Thurles CBS defeated Midleton CBS by 3-15 to 2-15 in the Dean Ryan Cup Under 16.5 A Hurling Final on Wednesday November 8th at Clonmel Sportsfield.

Thurles CBS sit on top of the Dean Ryan Cup roll of honour with 12 titles, their last success in 2010. Midleton CBS have won 7 Dean Ryan Cup Finals, their most recent successes coming in 2014 and 2015.

Midleton have had the tougher route to the final, securing a narrow win over Our Lady’s Templemore in Round 1 before having 10 points to spare in the Quarter-Final versus Ardscoil Ris Limerick. In the semi-final, Midleton CBS showed all their skills and determination by securing a narrow one point victory in a cracking game with St. Flannans. Midleton led early on but trailed by three points early in the second half. Midleton went in front again only for Flannans to draw level in the closing stages before a Kyle Quinn Waites point in the 58th minute ensured victory for the Cork based school.

Thurles CBS had a bye in Round 1 before playing St. Colman’s Fermoy in the Quarter-Final. Despite trailing after the first quarter, Thurles led at the interval by 7 points before going on to win by 21 points. In the semi-final versus John The Baptist CS Hospital, the sides were level after 15 minutes before a fortuitous goal helped Thurles to an 8 point half-time lead. The Tipperary based school ran in four second half goals to run out 25 point winners.

Dean Ryan Cup Roll of Honour

Paths to the Final

Midleton CBS

Scoring For – 7-53 Scoring Against 4-46

Semi-Final – Midleton CBS 2-17 St. Flannans College Ennis 2-16 – Match Report
Quarter-Final – Midleton CBS 1-22 Árdscoil Rís Limerick 0-15 – Match Report
Round 1 – Midleton CBS 4-14 Our Ladys Templemore 2-15 – Match Report

Thurles CBS

Scoring For – 8-47 Scoring Against 3-16

Semi-Final – Thurles CBS 5-18 John The Baptist Community School 0-8 – Match Report
Quarter-FInal – Thurles CBS 3-29 Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy 3-8 – Match Report