Coach Education News

Award 1 Youth Football Pilot Coaching Course

The Munster and Connacht Councils combined to run a pilot coaching course in Ennis on July 25th, 25th and August 8th. Seventeen coaches from Clare, Limerick, Tipperary, Cork and Mayo attended the course and will be the first coaches in the country to receive Award 1 Youth Football Certificates. The course was co-ordinated by Denis O’Boyle (Mayo), Joe Redington (Limerick) and Pat Moroney (Tipperary). Other Tutors who presented the course were Paudie Butler (Croke Park), Martin Connolly (Mayo), Tomás Quealy (Clare) and Brian Lotty (Cork). Peter Horgan (Croke Park), John Landers (Munster Council), Eugene Young (Ulster Council) and Hayley Harrison (Coaching Ireland) attended the course.

Attending the course were:  Seán Mullins, David Power, Barry Shortall, Stephen Morgan, Paddy O’Flaherty (all Tipperary), David Hawe, Aoife Landers, Shane Landers, Brian Kelly, Brian O’Connell, John O’Grady (all Limerick), Kevin Sexton, Michael Considine, John Enright, Noel Ryan, Lawrence Healy (all Clare) and Joseph O’Boyle (Mayo).

GAA Award1YouthPilotEnnisG

Coaches and Tutors attnding the Pilot Award 1 Coaching Course in Ennis in August 2009


Pat Moroney presenting a section of the Award1 Pilot course